The CSI library has a variety of print and electronic books. To find print books, us our OneSearch catalog; if you have trouble try these How to find a book instructions. For online books, you can also use OneSearch or try one of the databases below.
Many of our ebook databases have great educational content! Try searching the databases below.
Ebook Central has over 200,000 books, including many books on education, young adult and juvenile literature, and related social sciences. Books can be viewed online or downloaded using free software. A great resource for electronic YA and Children's books.
Digital reference collection containing over 400 full text encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, and specialized reference books. Search for articles across all the books in the database or browse through specialized subject specific encyclopedias. All articles are also indexed in the library's primary catalog, OneSearch.
Books and Journals published by Springer. While Springer is often known for the physical sciences, they have a great Education collection! Search in their 1,300 education books. Education Search Results.
If a book or an article from a journal is not available through the CUNY Library system you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Below are some selected reference books and monographs (whole books on a single topic) in Education. Browse these for samples of our resources.
Basing his account on the insights of six veteran American Indian educators who serve in three reservation schools on the Northern Plains, Terry Huffman explores how Native educators perceive pedagogical strengths rooted in their tribal heritage and personal ethnicity. He recounts their views on the issues facing students and shows how tribal identity can be a source of resilience in academic and personal success.
Carol Ann Tomlinson and Tonya R. Moon take an in-depth look at assessment and show how differentiation can improve the process in all grade levels and subject areas. After discussing differentiation in general, the authors focus on how differentiation applies to various forms of assessment--pre-assessment, formative assessment, and summative assessment--and to grading and report cards.
How does the digital divide affect the teaching and learning of historically underrepresented students? Many schools and programs in low-income neighborhoods lack access to technological resources. This inequity creates a persistent digital divide-- a divide in both formal and informal digital literacy. Diversifying Digital Learning outlines the pervasive problems that exist with ensuring digital equity and identifies successful strategies to tackle the issue.
Summarizes current research in the field. Topics relate to NCSS (National Council for the Social Studies) standards. Themes include social justice and the social studies; assessment and accountability; civic competence in pluralist democracies; information ecologies:technology; teacher preparation and development; etc. Located in Reference.
Alphabetized signed entries defining and explaining in depth major issues in the field. Categories of information include therapies, measurement instruments, legislation, drugs, etc. Also includes biographical entries of notable individuals in the field. Located in Reference.
ESL (ELL) Literacy Instruction provides both ESL and mainstream teachers with the background and expertise necessary to plan and implement reading programs that match the particular needs and abilities of their students. Comprehensive and research-based, it applies current ESL and reading research and theory to practice. Designed for use by pre-service and in-service teachers at all levels from kindergarten to adult learners, it explains different models of literacy instruction from systematic phonics to whole language instruction and includes specific teaching methods within each model. Multicultural issues are addressed.
Identifies nine foundational issues related to teacher education -- e.g., what should teachers know? Does different make a difference?, etc. -- treated in depth with historical and contemporary documents and commentary. Located in Reference.
Provides brief biographies of more than 300 authors and illustrators as well as essays on all genres of children's literature. Entries, which are signed, comprise literature worldwide. Oxford University Press, 2006.
The Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies takes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and covers many topics including: different models and approaches to disability, how key impairment groups have engaged with disability studies, the writings within the discipline, and policy and legislation responses to disability studies and activism.