Skip to main content

Education

Internet Resources and Websites

Below is a selection of freely available web sites available on the Internet.

Access Excellence
Health, Biology, and Life Science resources for K-12 science teachers as well as for students in science education programs. Sponsored by the National Health Museum (NHM), the site provides sections on current science and biomedical news with links to pertinent in class activities designed by teachers.

ArtsConnectEd
The Minneapolis Institute of Arts (MIA) and the Walker Arts Center provide a variety of free resources related to the visual arts including works of art, audio, video, text and interactive tools that may be of interest to K-12 educators and students.

Common Core State Standards Initiative
The initiative is a state-led effort to establish a single set of educational standards for kindergarten through 12th grade in English Language Arts & Literacy  and Mathematics.

EngageNY
An evolving, collaborative platform for teachers, principals, network teams, and administrators concerned with common core standards; data-driven instruction cycle (DDI); school-based inquiry (SBI); and teacher/leader effectiveness (performance management systems).

History Matters
The U. S. Survey Course on the Web created by the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning (Graduate Center, CUNY) and the Center for History and New Media (George Mason University) is designed for high school and college teachers and students as a gateway to web resources and other useful materials for teaching U.S. history. An excellent source for primary documents, guides to analyzing historical evidence as well as teaching strategies and techniques.

IIPL2 - Education
A searchable, annotated subject directory of Internet resources in education. Includes topics such as k-12; early childhood and preschool; literacy; special education. Also included are links to education blogs and education news.

National Institute for Early Education Research (NIERR)
Based at Rutgers University Graduate School of Education, the NIEER conducts and communicates independent research to support early childhood education for all children. Links are available to news and events, research, publications, facts and figures, and State Yearbooks, profiling state-funded pre-kindergarten programs in the United States.

National Science Digital Library
Digital library funded by National Science Foundation providing relevant sites for education and research in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). Resources for k-12 teachers include pathway portals, resources of interest, and professional development. Materials range from journal articles to lesson plans to interactive animations and blogging services. Access provided by grade level and format.

Smithsonian Education
Access to the institutions' educational resources and programs including: museum, research centers, and affiliate resources; lesson plans; professional development workshops and conferences for teachers; field trip guides and orientation videos; and a journal for educators, Smithsonian in Your Classroom.

Government Resources

Information resources provided by federal, state, or city government.

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Gateway to information on child safety, welfare and adoption maintained by the Administration for Children and Families of the Department of Health and Human Services. Contains information about child welfare topics, including child abuse prevention, family preservation, and foster care. Includes an index to relevant reports, articles, books, websites, and statistics. Useful for professionals such as teachers and counselors.

Ed Pubs - U.S. Department of Education
Helps to identify and to order free U.S. Department of Education publications. More than 6000 titles including research reports, brochures, grant applications, financial aid products, newsletters, and videotapes. Publications ca be accessed via categories of audience, educational level, subject, and language.

National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance
One of the four centers of the Institute of Education Sciences. Responsible for conducting evaluations of federal programs, synthesizing and disseminating information from evaluation and research, and providing technical assistance to improve student achievement particularly in the areas of reading, mathematics, and science. Includes work of the Regional Educational Laboratory Program; the What Works Clearinghouse; the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC); and the National Library of Education.

New York State Education Department (NYSED)
New York State education information and resources for licensed professionals, school administrators, teachers, and students. Sponsored by the University of the State of New York (USNY), it includes curriculum material, assessment information, learning standards, teacher certification and licensing requirements, and information about grants and finance, etc.

P-12 Prekindergarten through Grade 12 Education
Provides quick access to New York State Education programs and their offices including early learning, charter schools, funding opportunities, the Race to the Top (RTTP), and the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA).  

NYC Department of Education
Information on department services, policies, special programs, and news items.

NYTSCE - New York State Teacher Certification Examinations
Pertinent information concerning the New York State Teacher Certification examinations including test dates, registration, test frameworks including content specialty tests, and test preparation guides.

U.S. Department of Education
Central site for national government information on educational funding, research, statistics, policy, and programs. Includes link to teaching and learning resources from federal agencies.