Skip to main content

Education

Find Articles Using Databases

To find articles on a specific subject use an appropriate database.  Databases locate citations from newspaper, magazine, and journal articles. Many databases offer the full text article right on the screen.

Databases can be used on campus by just clicking on the links. If connecting from off-campus, log in using your CSI student or faculty email address and password.

 

Subject-Specific Databases

The following is a selected list of core databases specific to the field of Education. Databases can be accessed on-campus by clicking on the links below. If accessing databases from off-campus, please log in using your CSI student or faculty email address and password.

Chronicle of Higher Education
Source of news, information, and employment for college and university faculty members and administrators. Provides data relating to faculty salaries, enrollment, student activities, and demographics.

 
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 2,850 periodicals and includes full text articles for more than 1800 journals, 550 books and monographs, conference papers and citations to 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes multilingual education, health education and testing. An online thesaurus is available.
 
Full text access to selected journals in education and education research published by Sage. Covers such areas as assessment; curriculum; early childhood, middle school, high school, and secondary education; multicultural education; diversity; special education; gifted children; teaching methods; etc. Begin your search by entering terms and then limit by subject, in this case, education .   
 
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center accessible here through the EBSCO interface provides access to the ERIC database which includes citations from Resources in Education (RIE) and the Current Index to Journals in Education CIJE). Also provides full text access to educational digests and links to more than 224,000 full text ERIC documents (ED numbers).
 
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)
The world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature, sponsored by The Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education. Contains more than one million abstracts of documents and journal articles on educational research and practice from 1966 on. Also provides full text access to non-journal documents from 1993* on. Includes the online ERIC thesaurus of descriptors or education-related terms. *All ERIC non-journal documents from 1958-2002 are available on microfiche. Please see reference librarian.
 
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Full text information about, and reviews of, commercially available English-language standardized tests in educational skills, vocational aptitude, personality, psychology, and related areas. Contains The Mental Measurement Yearbooks 1 through 19. Print editions available at the Reference Desk [Call number: BF176.B93]
 
Professional Development Collection 
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. The database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Titles indexed include Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education Week, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, Reading Teacher, and many others.

 

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for a small group of teacher and administrator journals and magazines for professional educators.

 

Selected Journals

The following is a selected list of core journals in Education, some of which are open-access.

Search for a journal:

Search for Periodical Titles

Interlibrary Loan

If an article from a journal is not available at the College of Staten Island you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Related Databases

The following is a selected list of related databases for finding articles in the field of education. Databases can be accessed on campus by clicking on the links below. If accessing databases from off-campus, please log in using your CSI student or faculty email address and password.

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database providing selected full text articles from scholarly journals in various fields, including education and related disciplines. A subject authority file (thesaurus) lists the information contained in the database according to topic. Can be accessed through the navigation button, Subject Terms.

JSTOR
Full text access to complete back runs of selected scholarly journals going back to the first issue, in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Allows for cross-disciplinary searching. Arts & Sciences collections IV and VI contain select titles for the discipline of education.

Humanities Source
Comprehensive resource for scholarly sources in the humanitites including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, reviews of dance programs, film, opera and theatre. Includes articles about critical literacy. Provides world wide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. 

 LexisNexis Academic
Full text access to a wide range of news, business, and legal information. News resources include major U.S. and world newspapers and magazines, TV and radio transcripts, newswires, and blogs. Business resources include industry and market news, company profiles and SEC filings, and country profiles and business conditions. Legal resources include law reviews and journals, U.S. case law, codes and statutes.

Mas Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text from more than 650 popular general interest and current events publications covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. Includes reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection.

Project MUSE
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, the social sciences and the arts. A select number of discipline-specific titles in education available.

PsycArticles
Full text articles on current issues in psychology as well as in the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as education. Links are available through PsycInfo. Coverage spans from 1894 to the present.

PsycINFO
Comprehensive database for research in topics in psychology, including the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as education, etc. Contains citations and abstracts of the scholarly literature (journals, books, dissertations, etc.) in the field going back to the nineteenth century.

Social Science Citation Index
Part of the Web of Science, Social Science Citation Index provides citations to journal articles in the social sciences, including anthropology, education, history, library science, law, philosophy, political science, psychology, sociology, and women's studies.

SocIndex FT
Comprehensive coverage of research literature in the field of sociology and its sub-disciplines including cultural sociology, social psychology, and educational psychology, etc. Contains full text for journals dating back to 1908.

SpringerLink
Full text access to scholarly journals in subjects such as the natural sciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, technology, and education. Covers specialized fields of mathematics and science education, comparative education, business education, and technology education.

Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary database offering full text access to select scholarly journals in the fields of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. Includes a good number of discipline specific titles in education, and educational psychology.