Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History

Guide to primary and secondary sources in the field of history.

Newspapers

Access World News 
Full text access to approximately 3,000 global news sources, including newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news blogs.

 

Gale Infotrac Newstand 
InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database.

 

National Newspaper Index 
Index of five major newspapers: New York Times (from 1980), Wall Street Journal (from 1980), Christian Science Monitor(from 1980), Los Angeles Times (from 1982) and Washington Post (from 1980). Also includes index for New York Times Magazine (from 1977) and New York Times Book Review (from 1980).

 

New York State Newspapers 
Full text of select New York state newspapers, including the New York Post (from 2000), New York Observer (from 1999), Albany Times (from 1986), and Buffalo News (from 1996). Coverage dates vary by publication.

 

New York Times Historical 
Full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2007. Recent issues available thru Lexis-NexisAdditional holdings.

 

Staten Island Advance 
Full text of Staten Island's local newspaper, the Staten Island Advance, from October 1991 to present. Electronic access is also available from LexisNexis (Aug. 2006 - present). Issues from Aug. 1945 to Dec. 2007 are available on microfilm. See library catalog for holdings.

 

Wall Street Journal [Proquest] 
The Library now provides WJS coverage (1997-Present) through the Journal's online website and mobile app. Please use your CSI email at the Wall Street Journal (Online) link to sign up for access. For articles from 1970 to present, please use the Nexis Uni database to search the "Wall Street Journal Abstracts" and we will provide access via ILL.