Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History

Guide to primary and secondary sources in the field of history.

Welcome to the CSI Archives & Special Collections

The Archives & Special Collections of the CSI Library collects, preserves, and makes available primary and secondary materials that document the history of Staten Island and the College of Staten Island.

  • The Archives’ focus is the history of the College and records the activities of the administration, academic departments, faculty, staff, students, and related organizations of the College of Staten Island and its predecessor institutions.
  • The Special Collections concentrates on the history of Staten Island political culture and public policy discourse, especially in the period since consolidation with New York City in 1898.

As a unit of the Library, the Archives & Special Collections supports effective teaching and learning through training students to conduct research using primary source materials, partnering with faculty members to create assignments using primary source materials, and hosting internships in archival theory and practice for students wanting to explore archival work as an interest or career option. The unit engages the public through programs, lectures, physical and online exhibitions, and cooperative projects with other Staten Island historical repositories, sharing knowledge of archival and library practice and technology to promote preservation and access to Staten Island materials.