Circulation books on World History can be found on the 3rd floor of the CSI library, in the pink section, aisles 115-136 with call numbers beginning with the letter D.
Reference books on World History can be found on the 1st floor of the CSI library, with call numbers starting in the letter D.
More specific call numbers for topics in World History can be found in the Library of Congress D Outline.
More information on the history of call numbers and how they work can be found in our Library of Congress Classification Research Guide.
125 primary source documents paired with in-depth analysis and author biographies.
Discusses the hidden histories and communities left out of conventional history books.
Comprehensive guide to atlases, encyclopedias and other reference books in the field of history
Tells the story of humankind as producers and reproducers from the Paleolithic to the present.
Offers an overview of the state of the discipline of history and the problems that confront it and its practitioners.
Presents over 30 essays from an international group of historians.
Offers a truly concise yet satisfyingly full history of the world from ancient times to the present.
Uses common themes to present an integrated survey of human history from its origins to the present day.
Historical context of the forces that shaped the twentieth century.
Covers the civilizations of the Middle East, Asia, Africa, the Americas and Europe.
Explores death rites in ancient Egypt to provide new insights into the civilization.
Comparison of the political and social systems of Europe and Africa from antiquity to the formation of modern states.
Over 700 cross-referenced entries on individual African women.
Africa in History provides a history of Africa without the typical Eurocentric approach.
A detailed historic mapping of the cultural, political, geographic, and religious past on a continent-wide scale.
A far-reaching study of the thorny relationship between imperialism and the role of scientific expertise.
This text outlines the historical process out of which Africa's position in the world has emerged.
This book examines key themes such as colonialism, religion, slavery, nationalism and the economy.
A "tremendous," "intrepid" history of the devastating war in the heart of Africa's Congo.
A history of Africa from the origins of mankind right up to the South African general election of 1994.
Describes the remarkable archaeological finds that revolutionize our understanding of these trade routes.
A comprehensive portrait of Taiwan that covers the major periods in the development of island province/nation.
Discusses Korean history and culture from the earliest times to the student revolution of 1960.
Walker tackles key themes regarding Japan's relationships with its minorities, state and economic development.
Explores the strategic and institutional dynamics of international relations in East Asian history.
Analysis of the development of Taiwan's media and the construction of national identity.
Tracks the story of Genghis Khan and his descendants, and their conquest and transformation of the world.
Examines Hong Kong's developing role in the Victorian imperial defense system.
A full-scale presentation of the general history of Korea.
Paints a richly nuanced and strikingly original portrait of the last two centuries of Japanese history.
Examines the diverse peoples of early European civilization through a series of 212 essays, presented in chronological order.
Marshall illuminates the causes and consequences of this pivotal movement in western Christianity.
The first modern history that covers all of Europe, detailing sixty years of political and cultural change.
Analyses the representations of Charlemagne produced after his death and the evidence from Charlemagne's lifetime.
Highlighting the latest archaeological evidence, Richards reveals the whole Viking world.
An enthralling epic that is also an amazingly intimate portrait of Queen Elizabeth I.
Reveals the historical roots of current conflicts and gives a landmark reassessment of the region’s history.
Traces Prussia's involvement in the continent's foundational religious and political conflagrations.
A reflection on memory from an Eastern European historical perspective.
A master work of history that stretches from the Ice Age to the Atomic Age.
Covers the history of the empire at its height, looking at its people, religions and social structures.
The first example of non-fiction, recounts the causes of the wars between the Greek city-states and Persia.
Traces Rome's early development within an environment of Latins, Sabines, Etruscans, Greeks, and Phoenicians.
A concise introduction to the history and culture of this remarkable civilization.
Argues that a discourse of imperial founding helped articulate and legitimate imperial authority of the Roman Empire.
An indispensable introduction to the central period of Greek History for all students of classics.
A set of twelve biographies, each about one of the Roman emperors, including one on Julius Caesar.
A systematic survey of archaic Greek society and culture.
A radical new survey of more than a thousand years of religious life at Rome.
An analysis of aspects of Roman society, institutions, and ideas during the period.
Provides an accessible introduction to the era in which Latin America took its first steps into the Modern Age.
A topical overview of Latin American development from earliest times to the present day
Employs the disciplines of history, religious studies, and anthropology to illuminate the complexities of Aztec life.
Discusses shifting relationships between development, hegemony, and social transformation in Latin America
Tells the story of the development of the Andean republics and their people.
Illustrates the Central American native peoples' unique communities.
The best, most readable introduction to the New World's greatest ancient civilization.
Accounts from native Aztec descendants about the conquest of Mexico by the Spaniards.
An exploration of the emergence of a specifically Spanish concept of community in 18th century Spanish America.
Presents the epochal political, economic, social, and cultural changes in Latin America over the last 40 years.
Explores the evolution of Islamic institutions and culture.
Historical studies and new editions of material from the 7th to the 15th century C.E.
A discussion of the highly developed social institutions of the Achaemenid Empire.
Discusses the endurance of a culturally diverse empire across four centuries.
Examines the relationship between the Israeli government and the occupation of the Palestinian territories.
Oates describes the rise of Babylon from Sargon of Agade to Hammurapi.
An introductory survey of the Umayyad Caliphate (AD 661-750) and Islamic history.
The history of the Aramaean kingdoms of Syria from the 12th to the end of the 8th century B.C.
Analyzes the "Elamite" culture of the Neo-Elamite period and the emerging "Persian" culture.
Explores Achaemenid kingship and argues for the centrality of the royal court in elite Persian society.
150 archaeological objects produced by Canada's First Peoples.
A sweeping chronicle of Canada from its earliest times to the 21st century.
Explores environment, politics, and culture in the Caribbean.
Presents a general history of the Caribbean islands.
Discusses the geopolitical significance of modern Canada.
Discussion on how to model courses that impart the rich, vibrant, and multivalent aspects of the Caribbean.
Discussion of the Greenlanders' pre-colonial world.
A general history of Canada.
An account of the author's travels through the Caribbean.
How the Grenada Revolution shaped the cultural and political vocabularies of the Caribbean.
History of NZ, from its origins in Gondwana some 80 million years ago to the twenty-first century.
A much-needed history of native Hawaiian resistance to American imperialism.
How the convict colony actually worked and how Australian democracy came into being.
The story of the expansion of Australia's pastoral industry and its effects.
An argument for a reconsideration of the hunter-gatherer tag for precolonial Aboriginal Australians.
Investigates New Zealand's history as an imperial power, and its evolving place within the British Empire.
How colonial struggles over land still shape the relations between whites and indigenous people.
Traces the global interactions and remarkable peoples of Asia, Oceania, Europe, America.
Covers six decades of island history told from the viewpoint of a major historical figure.
An analysis of relationships between Indigenous and migrant communities in New Zealand.
A chronicle of five thousand years of South Asian history.
This is a social, economic, political and cultural history of Modern South Asia.
Documents the role of empire in building the Mughal polity.
A definitive overview of research and knowledge about South Asia's past.
Traces the traditions and transformations of Myanmar's communities over nearly three millennia.
Examines the political trajectories taken by Pakistani women for over two decades.
A fresh interpretation of Indian history from the Mughals to the present.
This text is widely regarded as a leading general history of the country of Malaysia.
Traces the many changes in South Asian society through the centuries.
This volume incorporates new research in South Asia within archaeological scholarship.
Analyzes the political, social, and economic forces that shape the lives of modern Afghan people.
|
LinkedIn Facebook Instagram