Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History

Guide to primary and secondary sources in the field of history.

General and Reference Books on American History

Cover for

Milestone Documents in American History

Contains thirty-two full-text primary source documents that helped to shape American society from 1763 to 1823.

Cover for

American History, Combined Edition

This narrative spans the full scope of American history from the first Native American societies to the struggles of contemporary times. 

Cover for

American History: A Very Short Introduction

This Very Short Introduction offers an illuminating account of social, cultural, and scientific developments that shaped our country.

Cover for

Dictionary of American History

Entries from previous editions have been updated and revised, and more than 800 new entries cover recent events and new topics.

Cover for

Give Me Liberty!

Give Me Liberty! delivers an authoritative, concise, and integrated American history with new coverage of issues of inclusion and exclusion, 

Cover for

A People's History of the United States

Covering Christopher Columbus’s arrival through President Clinton’s first term, Zinn features analysis of important events in our history.

 

Cover for

Race, Nation, and Empire in American History

This collection of essays offers a pointed reminder that visions of national greatness were a cornerstone of the new country when it was founded.

Cover for

1001 Things Everyone Should Know about American History

Covering a spectrum of the American past, from revolutionary times to the present day, this book dispels myths and misinformation.

Cover for

Encyclopedia of Women in American History

This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history.

Cover for

Modern American Lives

The individuals presented in these narrative biographies impacted contemporary American life in a wide range of areas.

Books on Indigenous American History

Cover for

All Our Relations

This account of Native struggles against environmental and cultural degradation features chapters on a variety of Native American communities. 

Cover for

An American Genocide

A comprehensive and chilling history of an American genocide featuring the rise of a state-sanctioned killing machine and the broad support for genocide. 

Cover for

Killers of the Flower Moon

Details the investigation into the murders of prominent Osage people that occurred during the 1920s in Osage, Oklahoma. 

Cover for

Peoples of the Inland Sea

Nichols offers a fresh and boundary-crossing history of the Lakes peoples over nearly three centuries of rapid change.

Cover for

Reproduction on the Reservation

Documents the transformation of reproductive practices and politics on Indian reservations.

Cover for

The Native South

Contributions from leading ethnohistorians of the American South in a state-of-the-field volume of Native American history.

Cover for

An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States

Dunbar-Ortiz offers a history of the United States told from the perspective of Indigenous peoples.

Cover for

Lakota America

Explores the Lakotas' roots as marginal hunter‑gatherers and reveals how they reinvented themselves twice.

Cover for

An Infinity of Nations: How the Native New World Shaped Early North America

The story of the indigenous peoples who ruled the western interior of North America.

Cover for

Native America

Oberg focuses on twelve native communities whose histories encapsulate the principal themes and developments in Native American history.

Books on African American History

The 1619 Project

The "1619 Project" reframes our understanding of US history by placing slavery and its continuing legacy at the center of its narrative. 

Cover for

The Color of the Third Degree

Discusses the willing acceptance of violent coercion by those in power, bringing to light the deep historical roots of police violence against African Americans.

Cover for

The Warmth of Other Suns

Wilkerson chronicles the decades-long migration of black citizens who fled the South for northern and western cities.

Cover for

A Black Women's History of the United States

A critical survey of black women's complicated legacy in America.

Cover for

The New Black History

Presents cutting-edge scholarship on key issues that define African American politics, life, and culture.

Cover for

The Black Campus Movement

Provides the first national study of this intense and challenging struggle which disrupted and refashioned institutions in almost every state. 

Cover for

African Americans

Illuminates the central place of African-Americans in U.S. history by telling the story of what it has meant to be black in America.

Cover for

The Richmond 34 and the Civil Rights Movement

The arrest of 34 students during a sit-in protest in Richmond, Virginia, heralded the upending of a long-established way of life.

Cover for

Black Public History in Chicago

In civil-rights-era Chicago, a dedicated group of black activists, educators, and organizations employed black public history as more than cultural activism.

Cover for

Chocolate City

This book is peppered with unforgettable characters, a history of deep racial division but also one of hope, resilience, and interracial cooperation.

Books on Colonial American History

Cover for

The Struggle for Power in Colonial America, 1607-1776

 This study reveals the reasons for, stages, and results of the conflicts between the British Empire and the 13 colonies. 

Cover for

Trade, Land, Power

Richter reinterprets the struggle between Native peoples and Europeans in terms of how each understood the material basis of power. 

Cover for

Converging Worlds

Converging Worlds provides a survey of colonial American history both regionally broad and "Atlantic" in coverage.

Cover for

Taxation in Colonial America

This book shows how colonial attitudes toward taxation offer a unique window into the causes of the revolution.

Cover for

Hybrid Constitutions

Hsueh contests the idea that early-modern colonial constitutions were part of a uniform process of modernization, conquest, and assimilation. 

Cover for

From Columbus to Colonial America

This volume recounts the early history of America, using a diverse selection of the era's personal and historic documents.

Cover for

Under the Cope of Heaven

Bonomi argues that religion was as instrumental as either politics or the economy in shaping early American life and values. 

Cover for

Separated by Their Sex

Norton offers a bold genealogy that shows how gender came to determine the right of access to the Anglo-American public sphere.

Cover for

By Birth or Consent

Brewer explores how the changing legal status of children illuminates the struggle over consent and status in England and America. 

Cover for

The Puritans in America

Heimert and Delbanco recapture the change of Puritan thought from its incipient Americanism to its dominance in New England.

Books on the Revolutionary War

Cover for

The American Revolution

The book presents nearly 150 of the most significant battles and historic sites, and draws on essays from scholars in the field

Cover for

Revolution Against Empire

A transatlantic history of American independence revealing that 1776 was about far more than taxation without representation.

Cover for

Almost a Miracle

Ferling transports readers to the grim realities of that war, capturing an eight-year conflict filled with heroism and fierce dedication.

Cover for

Anglicizing America

This book offers a compelling framework for explaining the complex processes at work during the age of revolutions. 

Cover for

The Common Cause

Parkinson argues that to unify the patriot side, leaders linked British tyranny to fears about insurrectionary slaves and violent Indians.

Cover for

The American Revolution

Allison provides a cohesive synthesis of the military, diplomatic, political, social, and intellectual aspects of the Revolution. 

Cover for

Washington and Hamilton

This history book tells the largely untold story of the men who built America from the ground up and changed US history. 

Cover for

1776

McCullough details the actions and decisions that led Great Britain to undertake a war against the colonies.

Cover for

That Ever Loyal Island

Staten Island provides rich terrain for Papas's illuminating case study of the local dimensions of the Revolutionary War. 

Cover for

Ratification

Ratification is the story of the founding drama of our nation, revealing the convictions and aspirations on which our country was built.

Books on the Civil War

Cover for

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Civil War Era Biographies

A comprehensive collection of articles on roughly 900 individuals from the Civil War era.

Cover for

The War That Forged a Nation

McPherson considers why the Civil War remains so deeply embedded in our national psyche and identity. 

Cover for

The Civil War As Global Conflict

The book addresses the origins of the Civil War the struggle over slavery in the United States.

Cover for

The Cause of All Nations

Doyle explains that the Civil War was viewed abroad as part of a much larger struggle for democracy. 

Cover for

Race and Radicalism in the Union Army

Lause documents the efforts of radical followers of John Brown to construct a triracial portion of the Federal Army of the Frontier. 

Cover for

The Smell of Battle, the Taste of Siege

Smith considers how all five senses shaped the experience of the Civil War, exploring its full sensory impact. 

Cover for

Raising the White Flag

Raising the White Flag presents the first comprehensive examination of why surrender featured so prominently in the Civil War. 

Cover for

The Best Writings of Ulysses S. Grant

 A concise reference for students of American history, a valuable introduction for those who are new to Grant's writings.

Cover for

The Civil War in the West

Examines the geographical difficulties of conducting campaigns in a vast land, as well as the toll irregular warfare took on soldiers and civilians.

Cover for

The Fiery Trial

Foner gives us the definitive history of Lincoln and the end of slavery in America. 

Books on Modern and Contemporary America

Fighting Chance

This book details the falling-out between advocates of woman suffrage and black suffrage in the midst of the Reconstruction era.

Cover for

The American President

An account of American presidential actions from 1901 to 2001.

Cover for

The Worst Hard Time

Details the greatest environmental disaster in US history, a powerful cautionary tale about the dangers of trifling with nature.

Cover for

A Fierce Discontent

Discusses the drive to check the growth of large corporations and the effort to redefine the social class structure.

Cover for

Beyond the Bonus March and GI Bill

Ortiz details the rise of organized veterans as a powerful interest group in modern American politics.

Cover for

Home Front U.S.A

Informed by the latest historical literature, the third edition of Home Front U.S.A. continues to ponder the question of "the good war."

Cover for

The Columbia History of Post-World War II America

Encourages readers to form a new perspective on a highly debated period of American history. 

Cover for

The Civil Rights Movement

This introduction to the Civil Rights Movement describes its history, explaining its origins, development and results.

Cover for

The Invisible Bridge

A portrait of the United States during the turbulent political and economic upheavals of the 1970s.

Cover for the

The Legacy Of 9/11

Offers analysis of forty-four documents related to the lead up and aftermath of one of the most devastating attacks on U.S. soil.