Skip to main content

Environmental Science and Environmentalism

CSI Greener Library Interest Group

Image result for staten island greenbelt

Mission of the Group:

  • acts as an information provider about environmental issues through its Web presence and physical displays
  • raises awareness of environmental issues among library users and staff, and serves as an example of sound environmental policy and practice
  • advocates for implementation of sound environmental policy beyond the Library and participates in campus-, university-, and community-wide discussions
  • networks and partners with environmental-concerned groups

Earth Day at 50

April 22, 2020 marked the fiftieth anniversary of the celebration of Earth Day.  To commemorate this milestone, USA Facts, a not-for-profit, nonpartisan civic initiative published State of the Earth in Numbers, a data-driven portrait of America's energy, climate, and environment.  

 

To celebrate the fiftieth annual Earth Day, The Greenbelt Conservancy created a Greenbelt YouTube Channel.

Spotlight Video -- Fresh Kills: From Landfill to Park on Staten Island

Remote Access to Freshkills Park

Freshkills Upstream: Freshkills Park @ Home offers online resources to help you explore the park from home.

Search Library Resources

OneSearch allows you to search for books, articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, streaming video and DVDs (media), or to search across all of our resources in one place.

 

If you know the name of the database you are looking for, choose it from the following list:

 

You can also view a list of databases that are best for a specific subject area:

 

View a full alphabetical list of available databases here: https://library.csi.cuny.edu/az.php.

Search the Library for academic journals, newspapers, or magazines:

 

Our Research Guides help you find resources specific to your subject area or course. Choose a subject or course name from the list below to view the guide for that topic, or view a list of all our research guides.

 

This list of Frequently Asked Questions can help you navigate Library resources and services. If you have a question that is not answered by our FAQ, feel free to contact us.

Spotlight Topics: Ecology, Urban Development, and Climate Change

Earth: A Tenant's Manual

 "It's impossible to grasp the whole planet or integrate all the descriptions of it. But because we live here, we have to try. This is not just an artistic compulsion or an existential yearning, still less an academic exercise. It's a survival issue. This is the only planet we have. We're stuck here, and we don't own the place-it would be the height of arrogance to assume that we do. We're tenants here, not owners, but we're tenants with hope for a long-term tenancy. We want to extend our lease just as far as we can." -- from Earth: A Tenant's Manual

 

Access this book online.

In Earth:  A Tenant's Manual, the distinguished geologist Frank H. T. Rhodes, President Emeritus of Cornell University, provides a sweeping, accessible, and deeply informed guide to the home we all share, showing us how we might best preserve the Earth's livability for ourselves and future generations.

Rhodes begins by setting the scene for our active planet and explaining how its location and composition determine how the Earth works and why it teems with life. He emphasizes the changes that are of concern to us today, from earthquakes to climate change and the clashes over the energy resources needed for the Earth's exploding population. He concludes with an extended exploration of humanity's prospects on a complex, protean, and ultimately finite world.

It is not a question of whether the planet is sustainable; the challenge facing life on Earth-and the life of the Earth-is whether an expanding and high-consumption species like ours is sustainable. Only new resources, new priorities, new policies and, most of all, new knowledge, can reverse the damage that humanity is doing to our home-and ourselves. A sustainable human future, Rhodes concludes in this eloquent, sobering, but ultimately optimistic book, will require a sense of responsible stewardship, for we are not owners of this planet; we are tenants.

Surveying the systems, large and small, that govern Earth's processes and influence its changes, Rhodes addresses the negative consequences of human activities for the health of its regulatory systems but offers practical suggestions as to how we might effect repairs, or at least limit further damage to our home.

Featured eBooks from the CSI Collection

Databases

Resources from the Library of Congress (LOC)

Resources in the Spotlight

  

Kanopy: Live streaming media collection that covers a full range of disciplines including environmental topics. 

undefined

Film Platform: Streaming documentary films from across the world in a full range of subjects including environmental studies. All films are available immediately without the need to request access from the library.

Featured Environmental Websites