Any CUNY student, faculty, or staff with a CUNY email address may sign up for one year of free online access to the current Wall Street Journal. Free registration is required for each user. Once registered, you can log in to your own personal account from any computer without going through the library web site. You can access the paper on desktops or download the WSJ apps for your mobile devices. Just follow the Wall Street Journal Online link to signup.
Full text reports written by seasoned journalists about current social, political, and economic issues. Includes topics in health, education, international affairs, public policy, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report includes a concise overview of an issue, historical background, opposing arguments, statistics and polls, and suggestions for further reading. Great place to begin research on current affairs issues.
Coverage Dates: 1991 to present
Access to over 5,000 full text e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Find full text scholarly and reference books in a variety of subjects, including business, economics, computer science, history, political science, art, literature, and science. In order to read offline or download to a reader, first create an account. View Download Tutorial
Citations and select full text of scientific literature from popular and scholarly publications. Designed specifically for students and non-specialists. Covers a wide array of subjects including biology, chemistry, medicine, environmental science, botany, and zoology.
Coverage Dates: 1984 to present
Abstracts and select full-text of articles from scholarly, government, and general interest publications that address human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Coverage Dates: 1913 to present
Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines. Click here for a search tutorial.
Coverage Dates: 1665 to present
Abstracts and select full text of articles in medicine, dentistry, nursing, and related fields. Differs from the free version (PubMed) in that it uses the EBSCOhost search interface and provides some full text. Coverage Dates: 1950 to present
Nature Publishing Group (NPG) is a publisher of high impact scientific and medical information in print and online. NPG publishes journals, online databases, and services across the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine.
Provides access to full text literature about current controversial issues such as abortion, capital punishment, climate change, cloning, gun control, immigration, and more. Available material on each topic includes viewpoint essays, topic overviews, newspaper and magazine articles, statistics, and links to related web sites.
Multi-topic science reference.Twelve titles all include short informational articles. Particularly strong in the earth and environmental sciences. Includes the Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues and the Encyclopedia of Global Warming.
Abstracts of scholarly literature in science, technology, and medicine with full text available for articles published after 1995. Core subjects include physics, chemistry, engineering, biology, environmental science, health and medicine. Also provides coverage of a number of titles in the social sciences and humanities (particularly management, economics, psychology, and linguistics). Please note that the Library does not subscribe to all journals in ScienceDirect. Subscribed content is marked by a green "full text available" icon.
Full text journals, books, and reference works published by Springer. Core focus is science, technology, and medicine but includes some titles in the social sciences and humanities. Please note that the Library does not subscribe to all publications in SpringerLink. Subscribed content is marked by a green "full access" icon.
Multidisciplinary database offering full text access to select scholarly journals in the fields of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. For TUTORIALS, click here Coverage Dates: 1997 to present
Union catalog containing records of library holdings all over the world. Use WorldCat to locate books, journals, audio and video recordings, and archival materials held by other libraries. If an item you want is not available at CUNY simply click "Find It" to request an interlibrary loan.