This guide will show you how to search for content that the CSI Library has access to- print books, ebooks, and online journal articles. It also has lists of useful resources on the web, and links to other information from the library that will help you write research papers.
OneSearch allows you to search for books, articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, streaming video and DVDs (media), or to search across all of our resources in one place.
If you know the name of the database you are looking for, choose it from the following list:
You can also view a list of databases that are best for a specific subject area:
View a full alphabetical list of available databases here: https://library.csi.cuny.edu/az.php.
Search the Library for academic journals, newspapers, or magazines:
Our Research Guides help you find resources specific to your subject area or course. Choose a subject or course name from the list below to view the guide for that topic, or view a list of all our research guides.
Search the Library's Frequently Asked Questions:
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare, the Profession of Social Work by
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare, Volume 1: The Profession of Social Work features contributions from leading international researchers and practitioners and presents the most comprehensive, in-depth source of information on the field of social work and social welfare.
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development by
The Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development examines three key life stages from a sociological perspective, exploring how enduring experiences, as well as transitions and events such as childcare, education, stress, marriage, career, addiction, friendship, parenthood, disease, spirituality, and retirement influence the individual's life course. The nearly 400 entries in this three-volume set are organized by life stage: Childhood and Adolescence; Adulthood; and Later Life. Included in each is an overview essay that features a detailed discussion of that stage of human development, followed by signed entries that apply sociological as well as economic, biological, psychological, and educational perspectives to a range of topics. Also covered are sociological theories and their significance to life course study; the impact of social and government policies; and racial, gender, and geographic patterns of many life course phenomena. Entries are heavily illustrated with photos, graphs, charts, and tables. Also included is coverage of research methods and key data sources, which enhance and reinforce the topical entries, as well as a glossary, thematic outline, annotated bibliography, and cumulative index.
Encyclopedia of Disability by
The Encyclopedia of Disability is an award-winning five-volume set from SAGE Reference, awarded Best Reference 2005 award from the Library Journal along with an Outstanding Award from the American Library Association's Booklist journal. It represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. More than 500 world-renowned scholars have written over 1000 entries, in a clear, accessible style, with the desire to bring all students, researchers, and interested readers closer to the daily experience of disability. The first four volumes cover disability in an A to Z format, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography and index. Volume five contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability, everything from photographs to correspondence to excerpts from movie scripts and more. #65533;#65533; Sample entries are available to download from the resources section of the website - click on Sample Chapters & Resources to see more #65533;#65533; The Encyclopedia of Disability is a must-have reference for all academic libraries, large public libraries and any social science, medical, legal, or governmental reference collections. Non-governmental organizations, charitable foundations and law firms will also want to add this set to their collections. Senior Editors Jerome Bickenbach, Queen's University Scott Brown Dudley Childress, Northwestern University Medical School Joseph Flaherty, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Allen Heinemann, Northwestern University Tamar Heller, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Christopher Keys, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago David Mitchell, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Trevor Parmenter, University of Sydney, Australia Mairian Scott-Hill, Marsh Hills Cottage Tom Shakespeare, University of Newcastle Sharon Snyder, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Henri-Jacques Stiker, Univeristy of Paris Key Themes Conditions Therapies Biographies/History Laws Policy Consumer Organizations/Advocacy Definition/Concepts Movement Ideology International Developing Countries/Cultural Differences Professional and Lay Cultures Interventions Prevention Identity and Representation Products/Technology/Assisted Devices Social Political Universal Design/Architecture /Physical Environment Outcomes/Efficacy Cross Cultural/Cross National Journals/Resources Gary L Albrecht is Professor of Public Health and of Disability and Human Development at the University of Illinois at Chicago.
You can do everything from home, except check out a print book. That means you can read ebooks and journal articles and watch streaming video. You will be prompted to login. Use your SLAS which should be the same as your CSI email username and password. If you need a password reset please email helpdesk@csi.cuny.edu. (On campus, go to the Helpdesk at 2A-306D.)
Because of the interdisciplinary nature of social work, guides in other subjects will certainly be relevant. You might want to look at our guides for Anthropology, Sociology, Psychology, Education, New York City Data Resources and Transcultural Concepts in Healthcare. See our list of all guides.
|
Facebook Twitter Instagram