Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing 730

This guide is for Prof. Danna Curcio's Nursing 730 class: Evidence Based Practice for Advanced Practice Nursing

Search Library Resources

OneSearch allows you to search for books, articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, streaming video and DVDs (media), or to search across all of our resources in one place.

 

If you know the name of the database you are looking for, choose it from the following list:

 

You can also view a list of databases that are best for a specific subject area:


View a full alphabetical list of available databases here: https://library.csi.cuny.edu/az.php.

Search the Library for academic journals, newspapers, or magazines:

 

Our Research Guides help you find resources specific to your subject area or course. Choose a subject or course name from the list below to view the guide for that topic, or view a list of all our research guides.

 

This list of Frequently Asked Questions can help you navigate Library resources and services. If you have a question that is not answered by our FAQ, feel free to contact us.

Finding Evidence from Library Databases

  1. The Cochrane Library (over 7,500 Cochrane Reviews available in full-text.)

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases. At its core is the Cochrane Reviews, a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research. Each Cochrane review addresses a clearly formulated question; for example: Can antibiotics help in alleviating the symptoms of a sore throat? All the existing primary research on a topic that meets certain criteria is searched for and collated, and then assessed using stringent guidelines, to establish whether or not there is conclusive evidence about a specific treatment. Cochrane Reviews are the gold standard in evidence-based health care
Take the 2 tutorials below to learn how to search Cochrane Library
>> Navigating the Cochrane Library
>> Searching the Cochrane Library 

  1. CINAHL Complete (over 6 million records; full-text for 1200 journals; indexing for 5500 journals)


    The CINAHL Complete search page offers several options for finding evidence-based nursing literature. To do that, enter your search terms, and then scroll down until you see some of the options under Search Options - Limit your results.

    a. The Evidence-Based Practice box will limit your search to Evidence-Based practice articles and journals, as well as certain types of studies.



    b.  The Randomized Controlled Trials box limits to articles so identified.


    c. The Publication Type box has several options that might be considered strong evidence, including Clinical TrialSystematic ReviewRandomized Controlled TrialEvidence-Based Practice and Meta Analysis. You can combine several of these options by holding down the CTRL key on your keyboard as you choose multiple options.

NOTE: Don't check all of these boxes or choose all these publication types at once. No articles will match ALL of these criteria. Try each of these three options in separate searches.

In addition, CINAHL offers Evidence-Based Care Sheets on a number of popular topics. These brief documents are produced by CINAHL and offer summations of relevant, high-quality evidence.  To find these documents click on Evidence-Based Care Sheets in the blue bar at the top of the search screen.
>> Take this CINAHL Advanced Searching tutorial to learn how to search CINAHL 

  1. MEDLINE Complete (30 million citations; full text for over 1,400 biomedical journals, indexing for over 4600 journals)


    Enter your search terms. Under Search Options - Limit your results, check the EBM Reviews box, or locate Subject Subset, and select Systematic Reviews.


    >>
    Make sure to take this tutorial to learn Searching MEDLINE Complete