CSI Library: Performing and Creative Arts: Performing Arts & Music

Performing Arts & Music Databases

Biography Reference Center
Biography Reference Center is an easy to use database of more than 460,000 full-text biographies. In addition to standard search by name or occupation, the database allows for browsing by categories including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, or current world leaders.
Gale EBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Digital reference collection containing over 400 full text encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, and specialized reference books. Search for articles across all the books in the database or browse through specialized subject specific encyclopedias. All articles are also indexed in the library's primary catalog, OneSearch.
Gale Literary Index
A master index to literature reference books published by Gale. Find lists of author's works and links to entries in other Gale materials. Search by author or title of work. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for titles of works into one source.
Grove Music Online (Oxford Press)
A comprehensive music reference work covering all aspects of popular and classical music. Find artist/composer biographies, definitions of key terms, descriptions of major musical works and instruments, and encyclopedia articles on musical genres, styles, and traditions.
Oxford Reference Online
Digital collection of online reference books in all fields of study including dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject reference works. Search by keyword or browse titles by subject.

Literary Criticism Databases

Film Literature Index
This free database was run by the University of no longer supported by University of Indiana, which no longer hosts the resource. Please check out our research guide on Media Culture for alternative resources on film and television.
JSTOR
Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines. Click here for a search tutorial. Many scholarly eBooks are also available on the platform.
Coverage Dates: 1665 to present
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. It indexes scholarly books and articles in the fields of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. It includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. It includes materials from approximately 1926 to the present.
Project MUSE
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences primarily covering the fields of literature, history, cultural studies, political science, religion, and the arts. Project Muse also offers a variety of owned and Open Access ebooks!