CSI Library: Performing and Creative Arts: Studio Art & History of Art

Highlighted Databases

Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from over 400 leading art publications throughout the world covering the fields of art history, architecture, graphic design, photography, sculpture, and museology. Find feature articles, artist profiles, exhibit reviews, and art reproductions. This database offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications including non-Western art.
Coverage Dates: Indexing from 1984. Abstracts from 1994.
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) This link opens in a new window
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) contains a database of 2,296 images and descriptions intended for free use among members of the educational community. Images can be linked to, downloaded, and reproduced for any academic or non-profit purpose. It is currently maintained by volunteers from the Minneapolis College of Art & Design. Many ancient and medieval sculptures and architectural elements are included.
Artstor Public Collections This link opens in a new window
The CSI library no longer provides subscription access to Artstor, however about 2 million images are available in publicly accessible collections at the link above. Images include materials in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Artstor also includes about 400,000 images in the public domain that can be freely downloaded from the Metropolitan Museum of Art. An additional 85,000 images are available at The Met Collection. More freely available content is accessible at Smithsonian Open Access which houses 3 million images and objects from all 19 Smithsonian museums and centers.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) have citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations on the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present. This resource only covers publications from 1975 to 2007. Publications after this date are not available in this index.
Grove Art Online (Oxford Press) This link opens in a new window
***Grove Art is temporarily not available. Until access is restored, users with an NYPL library card may view the resource from home or campus at https://libguides.nypl.org/oxford-art-online.***
A comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, decorative arts, graphic design and photography, from prehistory to the 1990s. Find artist biographies, images of art works, definitions of key terms, and encyclopedia articles on art history topics.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Library of Congress. The collections include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines. Click here for a search tutorial. Many scholarly eBooks are also available on the platform.
Coverage Dates: 1665 to present
Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of texts, images, and maps for the study of the Humanities. Originally focused on the ancient world, the collection has since expanded to include other civilizations and time periods. Contains literary and historical materials on Ancient Greece and Rome, Medieval and Renaissance Europe, and early America.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences primarily covering the fields of literature, history, cultural studies, political science, religion, and the arts. Project Muse also offers a variety of owned and Open Access ebooks!