Archives & Special Collections

Old Town Records

This microfilm collection contains the official records of the autonomous towns and villages of Richmond County prior to their consolidation with New York City in 1898.

WPA Tax Photos

A photograph project conducted by the Works Progress Administration between 1930 and 1941. Almost every house on Staten Island was photographed.

Staten Island Newspapers on Microfilm

The College of Staten Island Student Publications

This microfilm collection covers student newspapers, magazines and other publications from Richmond College, Staten Island Community College and The College of Staten Island, dating from 1956 to 2012.

Back to Collections & Finding Aids Home

This microfilm collection contains the official records of the autonomous towns and villages of Richmond County prior to their consolidation with New York City in 1898.

1. Roll # 22
   Castleton and Middletown Assessment Roll- 1863, 1895
   Town of Middletown Assessment Roll- 1874-1878
   Master Negative (M.N.) 18022
2. Roll #23
   Town of Middletown Assessment Roll- 1888-1890
   Trustee Minutes- 8/10/1860-12/31/1897
   M.N.#18023
3. Roll #24
   Town of Northfield Assessment Roll- 1867
   Criminal Justice Docket- 1/10/1896- 10/30/1897
   Highway Committee and Old Roads Minutes- 3/1774- 8/26/1865
   Trustee Minutes- 4/1824- 1/26/1865
   M.N.#18024
4. Roll #25
   Town of Northfield Trustee Minutes- 11/3/1857- 2/13/1891
   M.N.#18025
5. Roll #26
   Town of Northfield Trustee Minutes- 2/24/1894- 12/31/1897
   Town of Southfield Assessment Roll- 1854, 1859, 1865
   M.N.#18026
6. Roll #27
   Town of Southfield Trustee Minutes- 3/3/1835- 2/13/1855
   Town of Westfield Board of Supervisor Minutes- 11/5/1844- 3/7/1872
   Criminal Justice Docket- 9/23/1895- 1/31/1898
   M.N.#18027
7. Roll #28
   Village of Port Richmond Board of Trustee Minutes- 4/24/1866- 11/30/1895
   M.N.#18028
8. Roll #29
   Village of Port Richmond Board of Trustees Minutes- 3/3/1891- 12/11/1895
   Village of New Brighton Board of Health- 6/29/1886- 9/3/1895 M.N.#18029
9. Roll #30
   Village of New Brighton Board of Trustees Minutes- 4/26/1866- 4/3/1878
   M.N.#18030
10. Roll #31
    Village of New Brighton Board of Trustees Minutes- 4/19/1878- 11/4/1899
    M.N.#18031
11. Roll #32
    Village of New Brighton Board of Trustees Minutes- 12/2/1889- 12/7/1897
    Board of Trustees Ledger- 6/1/1867- 8/18/1870
    M.N.#18032
12. Roll # 42
    Village of Edgewater Board of Health Minutes- 1885-1897
    Trustees Minutes- 4/2/1866- 5/17/1869
    M.N.#18042
13. Roll #43
    Village of Edgewater Trustees Minutes- 5/25/1869- 8/25/1875
    M.N.#18043
14. Roll #44
    Village of Edgewater Trustees Minutes- 9/15/1875- 4/22/1879
    M.N.#18044

From the late 1930s until 1941 the Works Progress Administration photographed almost every house that existed on Staten Island. The Archives & Special Collections at the CSI Library has microfilm containing these photos.

To find a WPA photo of your house you need to know your Block/Lot number. This number is usually located somewhere on your property tax bill. The New York City Department of Finance web site will also supply block and lot numbers for individual addresses.

The quality of the photos, as well as the quality of the copies that you can make off the microfilm printer varies. Should you desire a better copy, the NYC Municipal Archives allows you to download an application form and order one of their prints for a fee.

Current

The Staten Island Advance, August 1945 to the present.

The most recent 30 days are located at the Circulation/Reserves Desk. Individual issues are retained until the microfilm is received. Request microfilm in the Microfilm Room, 1L-204.

Historic

The titles below are available on microfilm; request in Archives and Special Collections, 1L-216.

Back to top