Latin American and Caribbean Studies

This Library of Congress archive dates back to 1943. It contains nearly seven hundred recordings of poets and prose writers participating in sessions at the Library’s Recording Laboratory and at other locations around Spain and Latin America. To date, writers from thirty-two countries are represented in this collection which includes readings in Spanish, Portuguese, Catalan, French, Náhuatl, Zapotec, Aymara, English, and Dutch. The material featured in this online presentation represents a sample of the archive. The site will provide access to additional items from the archive on a monthly basis over the next several years.

A digital language archive of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America, created by the University of Texas-Austin.

BNDigital preserves cultural memory and provides broad access to the information contained in its collection, which includes photographs, exhibitions, and a newspaper library.

Located at Hunter College/CUNY Silberman School of Social Work, Centro is a research institute dedicated to the study and interpretation of the Puerto Rican experience in the United States. Centro produces and disseminates relevant interdisciplinary research, and collects, preserves, and provides access to library resources documenting Puerto Rican history and culture, linking scholarship to social action and policy debates that contribute to the betterment of the community and enrichment of Puerto Rican studies.

A collection of primary (historical documents) and secondary sources about the history and culture of the Puerto Rican diaspora. Centro's Digital Collections provide access to photographs, documents, artifacts, art, maps, oral histories, moving image and audio clips, and other digitized or born digital material pertaining to stateside Puerto Ricans.

Digital collections of manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps, and other resources from the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection.

Online access to over 5 million scanned images (over 8.5 million pages) of original documents, maps and drawings from the records of the Danish West Indies held by the Danish National Archives.

The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera provides open access to a portion of Princeton University's ephemera collection.

The archive, located at the Harry Ransom Center at The University of Texas-Austin, contains more than 27,000 digital items from Colombian-born Nobel laureate Gabriel García Márquez’s papers including: manuscript drafts of published and unpublished works; research material and materials from all of his works of fiction; personal scrapbooks and notebooks; a memoir, screenplays, photographs, clippings, ephemera, and an audio recording of García Márquez's acceptance speech for the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1982.

The LADI repository is a collaborative project that preserves and provides digital access to unique archival documents from a network of Latin American partners with an emphasis on collections documenting human rights issues and underrepresented communities.

LARRP is a consortium of research libraries that supports learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies. Its collection includes articles, archival materials, and digital images.

Established in 1947, the UNESCO Archives are a rich source of evidence in diverse formats reflecting UNESCO’s activities and programs since 1946, and those of its predecessor bodies since 1925. The holdings include conference proceedings, reports, and other documents related to Latin America and the Caribbean, many of which are available online in digital format.