Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Find articles, conference proceedings, working papers, and policy briefs covering all aspects of global affairs and international relations. Also provides country data, videos, and teaching materials such as case studies and course packs of background readings.

Full text reports written by seasoned journalists about current social, political, and economic issues. Major Latin American topics include Democracy in Latin America, Cuba's Future, Mexico's Drug Wars, and more. Each report includes a concise overview of the issue, historical background, opposing arguments, statistics and polls, and suggestions for further reading. A helpful source of information on current affairs topics in Latin America. Also includes content on Caribbean issues.

Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Journal coverage begins with the first issue but does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines, such as Latin American or Caribbean Studies. Includes major titles like Latin American Literary Review, Journal of Latin American Studies, Caribbean Studies, and more.

The MLA Bibliography is now provided on the EBSCOHost platform! Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is an index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. It includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations To check IF full text is available, click on the "Find it! @CUNY." This resource has the same citation content as the print MLA bibliography, not all the articles it references are instantly available in full text. If you need a particular article that is cited in the Bibliography and cannot find it in CUNY resources, you may need to use InterLibary Loan.

Full text access to a wide range of news, business, country, and legal information. News resources include major U.S. and world newspapers and magazines, TV and radio transcripts, newswires, and blogs. Major Spanish-language newspapers include El Pais and El Mundo.

Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences primarily covering the fields of literature, history, cultural studies, political science, religion, and the arts. Relevant Latin American Studies journals include The Americas, Hispanic Review, and Latin American Politics & Society. Relevant Caribbean Studies journals include Small Axe, Callaloo, and Caribbean Studies.

This database is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Archival collections were sourced from more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, Bibliothèque Nationale de France, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University; these collections allow for unparalleled depth and breadth of content.

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.