Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

This LibGuide describes the CSI Library's resources and services that are relevant for learning and research in Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies.

Online Resources

ALA's GLBT Round Table

  • The American Library Association's round table on GLBT issues, which includes several awards lists, reviews, and their newsletter.

Anti-Violence Project

  • Collects statistics on violent acts against LGBTQ individuals across the country.

Dovie Horivitz Collection

  • The Dovie Horvitz Collection consists of over 1,300 images and scanned texts representing objects and printed matter that reflect the lives of women from the mid 1800s through the mid 1900s.

Feminism and Women's Studies Glossary of Terms

  • A web glossary of gender related terminology hosted by Carnegie Mellon University's Women's Center. The website includes lots of information, including history, theory, gender and sexuality, and further lists of resources.

Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media

  • Check out the research section for stats on women in the film industry.

GLBTQ.com

  • An online encyclopedia of glbtq culture.

The Guttmacher Institute

  • Original data on sexual and reproductive health issues, including abortion statistics, HIV & AIDS statistics and resources, contraception, and men's health.

Judith “Jack” Halberstam's website

  • Check out the “articles” section for a list of specific academic articles about gender that Halberstam recommends.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives, Park Slope, Brooklyn

  • A historical archive dedicated to collecting textual documents about lesbian history. Includes original manuscripts and letters from numerous literary lesbians.

The LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive

  • The Library of Congress's archive of LGBTQ+ studies.

The LGBTQ+ Politics and Political Candidates Web Archive‚Äč

  • Another archive from the Library of Congress focusing on political items.

National Archive of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History, Manhattan

  • A historical archive dedicated to collecting materials documenting glbt history.

National Women's Health Information Center -Statistics

  • Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this web site is the Federal government source for Women's Health care information.

The National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey

  • Summary reports from the National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey present data on the national prevalence of IPV, SV, and stalking among women and men in the United States. The ongoing NISVS survey provides data that will be used to track IPV, SV, and stalking trends over time.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

  • Access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library... includes collections in glbtq history.

Office of Global Women's Issues

  • U.S. State Department's Office devoted to foreign policy issues related to the political, economic, and social advancement of women in democracy worldwide.

ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives (includes transgender community collections)

  • Collections of photos, documents, books, videos, and journals addressing GLBT issues (including rare and difficult to find works).

PEW Research Center

  • Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Sophia Smith Collection

  • The Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College is an internationally recognized repository of manuscripts, archives, photographs, periodicals and other primary sources in women's history.

The Trevor Project

  • Provides crisis intervention and suicide prevention services for LGBT youth. Also, they report statistics that affect the LGBT community.

VIDA: Women in Literary Arts

  • VIDA publishes original data on literary bylines by gender in most major magazines and literary journals in America.

Women in the labor force : a databook

  • This Annual Report is an electronic resource published by the U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Washington, DC. This source is helpful for the study of women in the U.S. workforce.

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies of ACRL

  • The Women & Gender Studies Section (WGSS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries was formed to discuss, promote, and support women's studies collections and services in academic and research libraries.

Women's and Gender Studies Web Archive

  • This is an archive from the Library of Congress.