Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines. Click here for a search tutorial. Many scholarly eBooks are also available on the platform.
Coverage Dates: 1665 to present

Citations and select full text of scholarly articles, books, and conference papers in sociology. Topics covered include criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, substance abuse, violence, and urban studies.
Coverage Dates: 1895 to present

This full-text database contains in LGBTQ+ issues as well as full text for hundreds of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers including The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more. LGBTQ+ Source also contains many full-text monographs and books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations, Queer Theory & Social Change, and more. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is also included.

Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences primarily covering the fields of literature, history, cultural studies, political science, religion, and the arts. Project Muse also offers a variety of owned and Open Access ebooks!

Digital collection of articles, essays, books, bibliographies, and primary source materials documenting the history of women's reform activities in the U.S. from 1600 to 2000.
Coverage Dates: 1600 to 2000

Search engine for scholarly literature on the web. Searches across disciplines for journal articles, theses, books, conference papers, and technical reports from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. To link CSI library resources to Google Scholar either 1) use the link above to sign into your CUNY Log-in before you use Google Scholar OR 2) go to your Google Scholar>settings>Library links and search for "CSI".   Select  "College of Staten Island -> Find Full Text at CSI. This setting can be saved to your Google Scholar account. To view open access content on Google Scholar without a CSI login, go directly to https://scholar.google.com/.  

Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and select full text of scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of subject disciplines, including art, literature, education, history, sociology, science, and engineering. Because of its broad subject and full text coverage, Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for research on virtually any topic. Click here for a search tutorial. 
Coverage Dates: 1887 to present

Full text access to a wide range of news, business, and legal information. News resources include major U.S. and world newspapers and magazines, TV and radio transcripts, newswires, and blogs. Business resources include industry and market news, company profiles and SEC filings, and country profiles and business conditions. Legal resources include law reviews and journals, U.S. case law, codes and statutes.

All CUNY libraries have access to the New York Times academic pass, a subscription that is available to any student, staff, or faculty member with a CUNY email address. Free registration is required for every CUNY user. Once registered, you can log in to your own personal NY Times profile from any computer without going through the library web site. Just use your @csi.cuny.edu or @cix.csi.cuny email to register. Follow this video tutorial for help! If your faculty or staff subscription has expired, please follow these linked instructions to renew it annually.
To access NYT articles from 1851- 4 yeas ago, please use the New York Times Historical database. Check out our Journal Search for alternative access to current content via Gale and NexisUni.

Full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago, available in a ProQuest database. Content includes all articles in the print paper; many years have full PDF coverage, with full text searching. For access to the NYT website and apps see the NYT Academic pass. Check out our Journal Search for alternative access to current content via Gale or NexisUni.

This ProQuest database includes full text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Covers of a wide spectrum of ethnic viewpoints, including African-American, Jewish, Latino, Native-American, and Asian-American publications.
Coverage Dates: 1990 to present

Abstracts and select full text from over 650 journals in communications and mass media. Covers topics in journalism, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
Coverage Dates: 1915 to present

Electronic edition of the 5-volume Historical Statistics of the United States. Find historical statistics on topics such as population, income, employment, education, crime, and economics. Users can export data to spreadsheets or create custom tables.

The MLA Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. It indexes scholarly books and articles in the fields of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. It includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. It includes materials from approximately 1926 to the present.