Full text of over 1,200 books, essays, articles, pamphlets, and speeches related to African American history from colonial times to the present. Sources include published books as well as previously unpublished materials such as letters, correspondence, and interviews. In addition to searching by keyword, users can browse documents by multiple criteria such as author, title, date, subject, or historical event.
Coverage Dates: 1700 to present
This ProQuest database includes full text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Covers of a wide spectrum of ethnic viewpoints, including African-American, Jewish, Latino, Native-American, and Asian-American publications.
Coverage Dates: 1990 to present
Electronic edition of the 5-volume Historical Statistics of the United States. Find historical statistics on topics such as population, income, employment, education, crime, and economics. Users can export data to spreadsheets or create custom tables.
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection is split on two sites; The University of Michigan's materials may be searched independently at Making of America. While new materials are not being added, the existing digital items continue to be freely available. Cornell University's collections are now available through the HathiTrust; no subscription is needed to see the MoA material on the Hathi site.
The Northeast Slavery Records Index (NESRI) is an online searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and enslavers in the states of New York, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut and New Jersey. NESRI indexes census records, slave trade transactions, cemetery records, birth certifications, manumissions, ship inventories, newspaper accounts, private narratives, legal documents and many other sources.
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
|
LinkedIn Facebook Instagram