CSI Library: Physics and Astronomy: Science Funding Sources

Research Support

CSI OSPR
The Office of Sponsored Programs and Research provides professional guidance and administrative support for externally funded research and other sponsored project activities. The Office works with faculty and staff in the development and submission of proposals and subsequent management of awards, as well as serving as liaison to the Research Foundation of The City University of New York.

Services Include:

Assistance to faculty and staff with the search for external funding sources;
Proposal development guidance, including budgets;
Submission of applications and negotiating awards;
Facilitating post-award project management;
Assuring that submitted proposals conform to sponsor guidelines and University policies and procedures; and
Assuring CSI complies with all CUNY, State, and Federal grant- and research-related policies

The Research Foundation (RF)
The Research Foundation (RF) is a private, not-for-profit educational corporation chartered by the State of New York in 1963. RF is responsible for post-award administration of private and government sponsored programs at CSI and all of The City University of New York (CUNY). The RF is the legal employer for all personnel paid on grants and contracts and runs its own payroll and benefit program. The RF also provides purchasing and accounts payable services for non-personnel expenditures on grants. It performs all legal work on sponsored contracts and is responsible for all accounting functions.
The Advanced Science Research Center
The ASRC at The Graduate Center elevates scientific research and education at CUNY and beyond through initiatives in five distinctive, but increasingly interconnected disciplines: environmental sciences, nanoscience, neuroscience, photonics, and structural biology. The ASRC promotes a collaborative, interdisciplinary research culture with renowned researchers from each of the initiatives working side by side in the ASRC’s core facilities, sharing equipment that is among the most advanced available.

Grants and Research Awards

Pivot
Grants, internships, and graduate and post-graduate fellowships in all subject areas. Search by keyword; set alerts for relevant opportunities.

A personal account is not required to search and browse in this resource, but it is recommended for additional features such as saving alerts on search results. If you would like to use Pivot without creating an account, see Pivot (basic).

To create an account:

Open Pivot
Click on Sign up in the upper right
Select the Use Email Address/Create Password option, and fill out the form. For Institutional Email, use your @csi.cuny.edu address.
Look for the verification email in your inbox to finish the process.

After the initial setup, you will be recognized as a CUNY researcher whenever you log into your personal account.

GrantForward
CUNY provides access to this database through the Research Foundation. Create an account using your @csi.cuny.edu email address, and set up a profile to begin receiving automatic grant recommendations based on your research interests.
Grants.gov
Government website where federal agencies post discretionary funding opportunities and grantees you can search for funding sources, download applications, and apply for funding.
FOLIO (Foundation LIterature Online)
An online digital repository of foundation-sponsored research reports and publications covering the full scope of philanthropic activity.
Online Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Database of all federal programs available to state and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and non-profit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals. ~22,000 described.
Philanthropy News Digest RFPs
Philanthropy News Digest publishes RFPs and notices of awards as a free service for grant-making organizations and nonprofits. Also lists RFPs for grants to individuals and their upcoming deadlines.

Science Funding Sources

ACS Directory of Graduate Research - Chemistry
DGRweb 2011, the searchable online version of the ACS Directory of Graduate Research (DGR), is the most comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico.
American Chemical Society Fellowships and Awards
Resources for undergraduate students applying to graduate school, current graduate students, and postdoctoral scholars transitioning to careers in chemistry
Center for Digital Education Grants
The Center for Digital Education (CDE) is a national research and advisory institute specializing in K-12 and higher education technology trends, policy and funding. The Grants list includes Science, Engineering, and Social Science opportunities.
National Science Foundation A-Z Index of Funding Opportunities
The National Science Foundation funds research and education in most fields of science and engineering. Search here for recent funding opportunities, upcoming due dates, advanced funding, interdisciplinary research, and a guide for how to prepare your proposal.
Newton's List
Newton’s List is open to basic research funding opportunities related to one or more of the following fields: natural sciences, engineering/technology, agricultural sciences or social sciences. Opportunities in biomedical sciences, humanities, or applied research are not included.

Health and Medical Science Funding Resources

NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts
The National Institutes of Health Web site. Provides a searchable database of NIH grant information. Provides application forms, and procedures and guidelines relating to NIH grants. Also provides access to the NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts, the official document for announcing the availability of NIH funds for biomedical and behavioral research and research training and disseminating policy and administrative information.
NIH RePORTER
RePORTER is an electronic tool that allows users to search a repository of NIH-funded research projects and access publications and patents resulting from NIH funding. It replaced CRISP in December 2009.