East Asian Studies guide

CEAL, The organization for East Asian librarians in North America.
Working for East Asian Librarians since 1958.

Collections of materials pertaining to East Asian studies.

Berkeley’s C. V. Starr East Asian Library contains one of the most comprehensive collections of materials in East Asian languages in the United States. Its combined holdings, totaling over one million volumes in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and other East Asian languages, make it one of the top two such collections in the United States outside of the Library of Congress.

Collections of materials pertaining to East Asian studies.

Contains listings of archival collections belonging to Starr Library that pertain to East Asian topics. Brief descriptions are listed where available. Some of these archives are fully processed, and have records in the online catalog as well as online finding aids; a few even have dedicated webpages associated to them. Some are partially processed, and may have catalog records and/or webpages, but no finished finding aids yet. Many others are as yet unprocessed. As the Starr Library does not have a permanent archivist, processing of these materials will be slow. The list below will be updated as progress is made.

A University of Chicago CAS workshop, EATRH encourages scholars of East Asia to frame their work within the broader context of East Asia and the world.

East Asian Archives of Psychiatry is the official peer-reviewed publication of the Hong Kong College of Psychiatrists. It is one of the few English psychiatric journals in Asia. The journal publishes psychiatric reports from Hong Kong, China, Asian countries and other parts of the world.

The mission of the College of Staten Island's Modern Languages Media Center is to support and promote the study and instruction of foreign languages,literatures and cultures through the integration of instructional technology for both student and faculty use.

The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. The Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. The Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. The Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

At the Asian Art Museum, artistic and educational programs empower visitors to discover the relevance of great artworks in profoundly personal ways. Immersed in our galleries, visitors ponder the universal values found in human expression. Through the bustle of daily programs, students of the world steep in cultures through art, music, dance, and tradition. In the clamor of our classrooms, children build bridges to old and new worlds.

The Met has been collecting Asian art since the late 19th century. Many of its earliest benefactors—Benjamin Altman, the Havemeyers, the Rockefellers, and others—included objects from Asia in their large bequests to the Museum in the first half of the 20th century, and in 1915, the Department of Far Eastern Art was established. The real impetus for creating a comprehensive collection of Asian art came from Douglas Dillon, who was elected president of the Museum's Board of Trustees in 1970. In 1986 the department's name was changed to the Department of Asian Art.

Representing 4,500 years of visual history, the VMFA’s East Asian collection features paintings, prints, sculptures, ceramics, metalwork, lacquers and other decorative arts from China, Japan and Korea. Collection themes include the Bronze Age, the spread of Buddhism, cross-cultural influences, ceramic development and trade, scholars’ implements, samurai culture, as well as tea-ceremony and incense art. These works reveal rich cultural influences and interactions both within East Asia and beyond.

The collection of Asian art includes diverse materials from China, Japan, Korea, Southeast and Central Asia, and India, dating from Neolithic to present times.

Groundbreaking exhibitions of traditional and contemporary Asian and Asian American art.

We house one of America's foremost collections of Asian art, representing Japan, Korea, China, India, Southeast Asia, and the Himalayas.

There is a wide variety of languages spoken throughout Asia, comprising different language families, including Indo-European and Dravidian in South Asia and Sin-Tibetan in East Asia.