In her second feature documentary, Tatiana Huezo has a young mother recount her journey through hell: innocent, robbed of her liberty, she’s handed over to those for whom she’s being made to atone – in a private prison controlled by the Gulf Cartel.
Dolores Huerta is among the most important, yet least known, activists in American history. Dolores tirelessly led the fight for racial and labor justice alongside Cesar Chavez, becoming one of the most defiant feminists of the twentieth century—and she continues the fight to this day, at 87. With intimate and unprecedented access to this intensely private mother to eleven, the film reveals the raw, personal stakes involved in committing one’s life to social change
OSCAR and Emmy awarded director Jon Blair offers us an intimate look at one of the bloodiest urban conflicts on earth; a gripping film with unprecedented access to some of Rio de Janeiro’s most wanted men, together with the specialist police units that hunt down and kill them.
In Colombia, trade unionists are being murdered to stop them forming unions, and one of the alleged companies behind the crimes is Coca-Cola. In a legal and human rights battle, three U.S. activists launch a crusade against the soft drinks giant.
Violence is a fact of everyday life in Colombia, where the drug cartels have kept the country in an armed conflict for decades, and where almost all families have lost a loved one.
The unorthodox presidential candidate Antanas Mockus does all he can to reverse the vicious circle with an imaginative and positive election campaign. His idealism is both his strength and his weakness in a corrupt political system, where the people have lost faith in being able to make a difference.
A story of how a large Swedish mining company in the 80s send its toxic waste to a city in Chile, to be reprocessed and disposed of by a Chilean company. Instead of safely disposing of this waste, the forgotten waste formed land piles. The children who played on these land piles gradually begun to get sick. This film raises questions about morality, and issues of responsibility in a world of multinational companies.
This documentary tells the story of Latin American coffee farmers and how our daily brew is deeply connected to the region's troubled past and hopeful future. Following a 1000-mile journey from Mexico to Nicaragua, the film shows how equitable trading relationships are helping empower communities and take a step towards social justice.
This is the story behind Latin boogaloo, a colorful expression of 1960's New York City Latino soul. From its origins to its recent resurgence, WE LIKE IT LIKE THAT is documents the music that redefined a generation and was too funky to keep down.
Why is the well-being of millions of poor farmers in Central and South America crucial to the future of tropical rain forests, and our global environment? "A Fragile Paradise" explores the options and finds surprising evidence that there is a better way. Winner of top video documentary honors from Agricultural Communicators in Education in 1993. Superb viewing for students of agriculture, geography, biology, political science, ecology, and Latin American studies.
In DEATH BY A THOUSAND CUTS, Eligio Eloy Vargas, alias Melaneo, a Dominican Park Ranger in the Sierra de Bahoruco National Park was found brutally murdered by machete. At the time, he was believed to have been on patrol investigating an illegal charcoal production site often run by Haitians coming across the border into protected Dominican forests. This murder becomes the metaphor for the larger story of increasing tension between Haiti and the Dominican Republic over illicit charcoal exploitation and mass deforestation.
La Paloma was born in the 1860s as a Cuban Habanera, composed by the Basque Sebastian Iradier. This simple love song took off on a flight around the world and became an immediate hit in Mexico. La Paloma brought tears to the eyes of the unfortunate Hapsburg Emperor Maximilian on the Mexican throne, while liberals mocked him in a satirical version. As a marching song La Paloma arrived in Europe and came of age. To her melody children in Auschwitz filed into the gas chambers. A song that has scored countless personal moments, and spoken for itself for 150 years, doesn’t need our commentary - it deserves our celebration!
The Spanish Civil War (1936-39) left a million dead and over 500,000 refugees. Mexico welcomed about 20,000. Among them were the filmmaker's grandparents, parents, and some of their friends. IN EXILE: A FAMILY FILM tells some of the forgotten stories of memory and history -personal accounts that are intertwined with the shared history of Spain and Mexico from the time of Spanish King Alfonso XIII (1874-1923) through the present.
MILITIA WOMEN narrates the intense investigation to discover the identity of five militia-women executed in Mallorca in 1936. One picture and the existence of an anonymous journal, attributed to one of them, are the only clues. Is it possible, 80 years later, to discover the identity of those who remain silenced at the bottom of the graves?
A group of relatives of people who disappeared during the Guatemalan military dictatorship requested and obtained, among many other measures of compensation, the production of a documentary film describing the events by the State. It was in 2012 when the Inter-American Court for Human Rights condemned for the first time the State of Guatemala for the disappearances (more than 45,000 civilians) during the years of the civil war (1960-1996). FEARLESS is an exploration of the current shapes of our memory (individual and collective). The language of cinema, television, archive material, drawing and performance take us through the history of this struggle and we are able to see all its human aspects.
This is the story of Olancho, the most lawless province in Honduras, the most murderous country in the world. The film follows Los Plebes de Olancho, the most popular band from the region, who perform for the powerful drug cartels there. Their songs glorify the traffickers who have destroyed their country, and who sometimes threaten the lives of their loved ones. But in a world where the cartels wield the most power, do the musicians have any other choice? Official Selection at SF DocFest and the Brooklyn Film Festival.
WAKING DREAM weaves together the stories of six undocumented young people as they sit in limbo between deportation and a path to citizenship. DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals) has provided nearly 800,000 undocumented young people a chance to work legally, go to college, start businesses, and pursue the "American Dream." After DACA is rescinded, WAKING DREAM follows the unfolding fate of six of these young people as they fight for legal status in the U.S., struggle with the deportation of family members, and pursue their dreams in a country that is trying harder and harder to push them out. They know their fate must go one direction and they are fighting for their future in America.
Catalan architect Antonio Gaudi (1852-1926) designed some of the world's most astonishing buildings, interiors, and parks; Japanese director Hiroshi Teshigahara constructed some of the most aesthetically audacious films ever made. Here their artistry melds in a unique, enthralling cinematic experience. Less a documentary than a visual poem, Teshigahara's ANTONIO GAUDI takes viewers on a tour of Gaudi's truly spectacular architecture, including his massive, still-unfinished masterpiece, the Sagrada Familia cathedral in Barcelona. With camera work as bold and sensual as the curves of his subject's organic structures, Teshigahara immortalizes Gaudi on film.
This collection of streaming videos connects academic audiences with leading documentary films from across the world. It includes a wide variety of meaningful documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, in many subjects. Film highlights include RBG, Dolores, and films in many languages. All films are accessible immediately, without special request. These films now are on a new Alexander Street platform!
The collection consists of streaming films, which can be watched on or off campus, that cover a full range of disciplines including documentaries, tutorials, and TV shows on academic topics. A number of classic and popular films from the Criterion Collection are also included. If you are a faculty member and you cannot find the film you need for your course, please fill out our Request Form. The library will need notice so that we can purchase the film licence from Kanopy or order a DVD, depending on your classroom needs.
Related databases in our collection
Film Literature Index
This free database was run by the University of no longer supported by University of Indiana, which no longer hosts the resource. Please check out our research guide on Media Culture for alternative resources on film and television.
Manuela is the perfect mother. A hard-working nurse, she's built a comfortable life for herself and her teenage son. But when tragedy strikes and her son is killed in a car accident, her world crumbles.
Depicts the life of Mexican artist, Frida Kahlo, from her humble upbringing to her worldwide fame as a painter. Portrays how Kahlo expressed her physical pain through her paintings. Reveals the controversy that surrounded both her and her husband, muralist Diego Rivera, with whom she had a difficult, but devoted relationship.
Should she leave home, go to college and experience life? Or stay home, get married, and keep working in her sister's struggling garment factory? It may seem an easy decision, but for 18-year-old Ana, every choice she makes this summer will change her life.
Traces the history of Islamic Spain. Tells how in Southern Spain the Muslims, Christians and Jews lived together and thrived, and the seeds of the Renaissance were sown, but within a few centuries the fragile union of these people dissipated and the time of tolerance was lost forever.
Nominated for the Best Documentary Award at the 2012 Goyas, this is the unbelievable story of Manuel Cortes, the 'mole of Mijas'. When the Spanish civil war ended and the borders closed, hundreds of people were forced to go into hiding to escape Franco's repression. They lived for decades, hidden under floorboards or in holes behind walls in their own home, knowing they could be discovered at any time. One of the most famous of these moles was Manuel Cortes, the former mayor of Mijas, Malaga. With the help of his wife, Juliana, he spent 30 years hidden in a small hole in the wall of their house. For the first year of his captivity, Cortes couldn't even tell his daughter he was alive. He spent months watching her play, unable to even touch her. But this is not just a story about the Spanish civil war. It's a story about survival and humanity. About the consequences of war and dictatorship. Beautiful animated sequences capture the drama of Manuel and Juliana's story while archive and interviews provide historical context.
Despite being declared enemies by their countries, people in the Rock of Gibraltar and La Linea depended on each other, got married, and lived with their bilingual children. But Franco's decision to close entrance to the British territory forced the separation of thousands of mixed families. THE ROCK examines the lasting effects of Franco's decision, which haunts Spain to this day. Winner of the Golden Giraldillo for Best European Documentary at the Seville European Film Festival. Recieved Special Mention from the Jury at the Atlantida Film Festival.
A photographer purchases an anonymous 19th-century portrait in Barcelona. He believes that it is an original Goya painting but is it real or fake? The acquisition of the portrait is the starting point of a journey d'auteur, a look into the authorship of his canvases and a reflection on art as a business.