Designed as a beginner’s tutorial to the latest version of Visual Basic, this informative guide teaches how to write .NET Framework applications.It introduces programming concepts and explains the process of building real-world applications. Includes such topics as VB language syntax, object-oriented programming, working with numbers and dates, error handling, input output, generics, annotations, database access, and Windows Presentation Foundation.
This textbook covers the C programming language for computer science and IT students. Designed for a compulsory fundamental course, it presents the theory and principles of C. More than 500 exercises and examples of progressive difficulty aid students in understanding all the aspects and peculiarities of the C language. The exercises test students on various levels of programming and the examples enhance their concrete understanding of programming know-how.
Beginning C# 6 Programming with Visual Studio 2015 provides step-by-step directions for programming with C# in the .NET framework. Beginning with programming essentials, such as variables, flow control, and object-oriented programming, this text moves into more complicated topics, such as web and Windows programming and data access within both database and XML environments.
Location: Reserve (Bring call number to the Circulation Desk)
Starting Out with Java: From Control Structures through Objects provides a brief yet detailed introduction to programming in the Java language. By moving from control structures to objects, readers gain a comprehensive understanding of the Java language and its applications.
Want to understand a certain PHP programming technique? Or learn how to accomplish a particular task? This cookbook is the first place to look. With more than 350 code-rich recipes revised for PHP 5.4 and 5.5, this third edition provides updated solutions for generating dynamic web content--everything from using basic data types to querying databases, and from calling RESTful APIs to testing and securing your site. Each recipe includes code solutions that you can freely use, along with a discussion of how and why they work. Whether you're an experienced PHP programmer or coming to PHP from another language, this book is an ideal resource.
Python Crash Course is a fast-paced, thorough introduction to Python that will have you writing programs, solving problems, and making things that work in no time. In the first half of the book, you’ll learn about basic programming concepts, such as lists, dictionaries, classes, and loops, and practice writing clean and readable code with exercises for each topic. You’ll also learn how to make your programs interactive and how to test your code safely before adding it to a project. In the second half of the book, you’ll put your new knowledge into practice with three substantial projects: a Space Invaders–inspired arcade game, data visualizations with Python’s super-handy libraries, and a simple web app you can deploy online.
Python Playground is a collection of imaginative programming projects that will inspire you to use Python to make art and music, build simulations of real-world phenomena, and interact with hardware like the Arduino and Raspberry Pi. You’ll learn to use common Python tools and libraries like numpy, matplotlib, and pygame to do things like: Generate Spirograph-like patterns using parametric equations and the turtle module; Create music on your computer by simulating frequency overtones; Translate graphical images into ASCII art; Write an autostereogram program that produces 3D images hidden beneath random patterns; Build a laser show that responds to music by hooking up your computer to an Arduino
Location: Reserve (Bring call number to the Circulation Desk)
A beginner's guide to programming with R, the statistical programming language. Covers key programming techniques like manipulating data structures, reading data from a file, and writing functions. Introduces statistics topics like probability distributions, hypothesis testing, regression analysis, and statistical plots. Includes exercises throughout each chapter.
Learn how to program by diving into the R language, and then use your newfound skills to solve practical data science problems. With this book, you'll learn how to load data, assemble and disassemble data objects, navigate R's environment system, write your own functions, and use all of R's programming tools. RStudio Master Instructor Garrett Grolemund not only teaches you how to program, but also shows you how to get more from R than just visualizing and modeling data. You'll gain valuable programming skills and support your work as a data scientist at the same time.
Advanced R presents useful tools and techniques for attacking many types of R programming problems, helping you avoid mistakes and dead ends. With more than ten years of experience programming in R, the author illustrates the elegance, beauty, and flexibility at the heart of R. The book develops the necessary skills to produce quality code that can be used in a variety of circumstances. You will learn: The fundamentals of R, including standard data types and functions Functional programming as a useful framework for solving wide classes of problems The positives and negatives of metaprogramming How to write fast, memory-efficient code. This book not only helps current R users become R programmers but also shows existing programmers what's special about R. Intermediate R programmers can dive deeper into R and learn new strategies for solving diverse problems while programmers from other languages can learn the details of R and understand why R works the way it does.
Get valuable hands-on experience with Swift, the open source programming language developed by Apple. With this practical guide, skilled programmers with little or no knowledge of Apple development will learn how to code with the latest version of Swift by developing a working iOS app from start to finish. You'll begin with Swift programming basics--including guidelines for making your code "Swifty"--and learn how to work with Xcode and its built-in Interface Builder. Then you'll dive step-by-step into building and customizing a basic app for taking, editing, and deleting selfies. You'll also tune and test the app for performance and manage the app's presence in the App Store.