CSI Library: Linguistics: Recommended Article Databases/Journals

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of materials organized in a way that allows them to be searched. YouTube may be seen as a type of database. So is Amazon.com. You're already familiar with the concept of database use, even if you're not explicitly aware of it.

The databases on this page have been created specifically for academic use.

Some are specialized and focused on particular subjects, and many are multi-disciplinary, covering a variety of subjects. If you are working from off-campus, you will need to log in using your SLAS account.

Click here for a more detailed tutorial on databases.

Highlighted Linguistics Journals

Search for these titles in the Journal Finder to locate databases which provide access to each journal.

Applied Linguistics
Bilingual Research Journal
Biolinguistics
International Journal of Applied Linguistics
International Journal of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism
International Journal of Bilingualism
International Multilingual Research Journal
Journal of Child Language Acquisition and Development
Language Learning
Language Learning Journal
Second Language Research

Suggested Databases for Linguistics Research

Please note that when using an EBSCO database, you can also simultaneously search other EBSCO databases. From any EBSCO search page, click on the blue "choose databases" link to the right of the blue EBSCO logo. A box will open displaying all the other EBSCO databases for which CSI has subscriptions. Click on the box next to the database or databases you want to search simultaneously.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full text articles from over 12,000 scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.
Coverage Dates: 1980 to present
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and select full text of scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of subject disciplines, including art, literature, education, history, sociology, science, and engineering. Because of its broad subject and full text coverage, Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for research on virtually any topic.
Coverage Dates: 1887-present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines. Click here for a search tutorial.
Coverage Dates: 1665 to present

Language and Linguistics Journals from the Directory of Open Access Journals
A list of freely accessible full text journals that focus on language, philology, and linguistics. You can narrow the list by selecting "Peer Review" if you are looking for peer-reviewed scholarly journals only.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Database produced by the Modern Language Association containing citations to books, articles and dissertations on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and film from 1926 to present.
Oxford Journals-Limited Access This link opens in a new window
The CSI library can no longer provide access to the full collection of current Oxford journals, for budgetary issues. Significant open access and owned journal content is accessible at the link above. A number of select current titles have been purchased by the CSI library.

Please consider using OneSearch to find a variety of articles on a wide range of topics. Please use Inter-Library Loan if you need a particular article, have its citation, and cannot access it on the Oxford platform.
Taylor & Francis Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing access to over 1,220 full text scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Google Scholar
Search engine for scholarly literature on the web. Searches across disciplines for journal articles, theses, books, conference papers, and technical reports from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Some articles may be available for free on the web. Others are only available through the library's subscription databases. To locate full text for those articles, click on the link "Find Full Text at CSI" (only available when using a campus computer or accessing Google Scholar thru the campus proxy).
Project MUSE
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences primarily covering the fields of literature, history, cultural studies, political science, religion, and the arts. (Books are not available yet)
Coverage Dates: varies from 1958 to present