Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and select full text of scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of subject disciplines, including art, literature, education, history, sociology, science, and engineering. Because of its broad subject and full text coverage, Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for research on virtually any topic. Click here for a search tutorial.
Coverage Dates: 1887 to present
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes index coverage of major titles such as Journal of American History, American Historical Review, and American Quarterly.
Abstracts and select full text from over 650 journals in communications and mass media. Covers topics in journalism, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
Coverage Dates: 1915 to present
Descriptions and analyses of the social, economic, political, and military systems of countries throughout the world.
Full text reports written by seasoned journalists about current social, political, and economic issues. Includes topics in health, education, international affairs, public policy, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report includes a concise overview of an issue, historical background, opposing arguments, statistics and polls, and suggestions for further reading. Great place to begin research on current affairs issues.
Coverage Dates: 1991 to present
This ProQuest database includes full text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Covers of a wide spectrum of ethnic viewpoints, including African-American, Jewish, Latino, Native-American, and Asian-American publications.
Coverage Dates: 1990 to present
Provides access to full text literature about current controversial issues such as abortion, capital punishment, climate change, cloning, gun control, immigration, and more. Available material on each topic includes viewpoint essays, topic overviews, newspaper and magazine articles, statistics, and links to related web sites.
Archive of social science data compiled by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Data covers a broad range of topics, including political science, economics, sociology, health, and education. Data sets are accompanied by a description of the scope, methodology, dates, and geographic coverage of the study and can be easily exported to statistical software such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata.
Find population, health, and socio-economic data for New York City neighborhoods. View the demographic profile of a specific area or create comparison charts for two or more areas.
Coverage Dates: 1980 to 2010
Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines. Click here for a search tutorial. Many scholarly eBooks are also available on the platform.
Coverage Dates: 1665 to present
Full text access to a wide range of news, business, and legal information. News resources include major U.S. and world newspapers and magazines, TV and radio transcripts, newswires, and blogs. Business resources include industry and market news, company profiles and SEC filings, and country profiles and business conditions. Legal resources include law reviews and journals, U.S. case law, codes and statutes.
Citations to the world's demographic and population literature from 1986 - 1999, including books, articles, working papers, dissertations, and data files. Search by author, subject, region, or keyword. The complete index from 1937 - 1999 is available through JSTOR. Information and a user guide is available on the Population Index website.
Citations to the world's demographic and population literature from 1986 - 1999, including books, articles, working papers, dissertations, and data files. Search by author, subject, region, or keyword. The complete index from 1937 - 1999 is available through JSTOR. Information and a user guide is available on the Population Index website.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences primarily covering the fields of literature, history, cultural studies, political science, religion, and the arts. Project Muse also offers a variety of owned and Open Access ebooks!
Historical U.S. census data from 1790 to 2010. Use interactive maps to analyze changing demographic characteristics in U.S. states, counties, or tracts and generate statistical reports. The Social Explorer website is not properly configured to work on mobile devices and is best used on laptops and desktop computers.
Enjoy fast access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Coverage Dates: 1983 to present
Citations and select full text of scholarly articles, books, and conference papers in sociology. Topics covered include criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, substance abuse, violence, and urban studies.
Coverage Dates: 1895 to present
Multidisciplinary database providing access to over 1,220 full text scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Official demographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau covering births, deaths, education, employment, income, housing, and much more. To jump directly to Census and American Community Survey data please use https://data.census.gov. The American FactFinder is transitioning to this site.
Multidisciplinary database offering full text access to select scholarly journals in the fields of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. For TUTORIALS, click here
Coverage Dates: 1997 to present
Digital collection of articles, essays, books, bibliographies, and primary source materials documenting the history of women's reform activities in the U.S. from 1600 to 2000.
Coverage Dates: 1600 to 2000
U.S. government profiles of countries and territories around the world, managed by the US Central Intelligence Agency. Information on geography, people, government, transportation, economy, communications, and military.
|
LinkedIn Facebook Instagram