CSI Library: Healthcare Management: Databases and Journals

Databases

When searching for evidence and sources for your research papers, discipline-specific databases can be useful for finding relevant articles. Since the field of Healthcare Management lies at the intersection of different academic disciplines, including healthcare, business, administration, nursing, and more, the utilization of multiple diverse databases is imperative to a successful research process. Additional recommended databases can be found on our Business Database List, our Nursing Database List, and our Biology Database List.

Business Source Complete
Full text journals in all fields of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Covers major titles such as Harvard Business Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, and Journal of Marketing Research. Also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
CINAHL Complete
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Citations and select full text from over 3,800 nursing & allied health journals. Also offers full text health care books, standards of practice, evidence based care sheets, clinical trials, and research instrument records.
Coverage Dates: 1937 to present
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases for the study and practice of evidence-based healthcare. Provides reliable, up-to-date information and evidence to support healthcare decisions, including systematic reviews, methodological studies, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and clinical trials.
Gale OneFile: Business
CUNY no long subscribes to this database. Please check out our Business databases for alternatives.
Gale OneFile: Health and Wellness
This database, formerly called Health Reference Center Academic, offers medical topic overviews from Clinical Reference Systems and numerous medical reference books as well as full text of nursing and allied health journals.
Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health
The Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides clinical answers to nursing students, physician’s assistant students, and researchers in allied health fields. Nursing applications include caring for HIV/AIDS patients, dealing with accident and trauma victims, supporting cardiovascular surgery, giving emergency care, developing policy, providing neonatal care, relieving pain, serving the elderly, administering CPR, delivering babies, and operating specialized equipment.
Health Policy Reference Center
A comprehensive full-text database on the health policy discipline. This collection offers full-text coverage of information relevant to areas integral to health policy including, but not limited to: health care access, health care quality, and health care financing. The database features index coverage and 200 full-text titles.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
Free database of medical literature produced by the National Library of Medicine. Contains citations and abstracts of articles in medicine, dentistry, nursing, and related fields.
Coverage Dates: 1950 to present
Regional Business News
Provides full text coverage for regional business publications, including 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Coverage Dates: 1969 to present

Journals

Healthcare Analytics (New York, NY)
Healthcare Analytics is an interdisciplinary journal promoting the application of data science, business analytics, information technology, operations research, statistics, simulation, optimization, and mathematical modeling to decision-making and problem-solving in healthcare organizations within the private and public sectors.
Healthcare Financial Management
A business journal devoted to the management and finance of health care organizations and integrated delivery systems. Includes news and information on information systems, patient accounts, practice management, and the financing of alternative delivery systems.
Health Care Management Review
"Health Care Management Review (HCMR) disseminates state-of-the-art knowledge about management, leadership, and administration of health care systems, organizations, and agencies. Multidisciplinary and international in scope, articles present completed research relevant to health care management, leadership, and administration."
Health Care Management Science
"Health Care Management Science publishes research dealing with health care delivery, health care management, and health care policy, with a focus on methods from operations research and management science."
Journal of Healthcare Management
"An academic and professional journal publishing original research by health care administrators, financial planners, and educators on public policy in the health arena. Emphasis is placed on health-care management articles examining decision-making, financial management, organizational structure and policies, nursing management, and policy strategies. This is the official journal of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE)."
Journal of Healthcare Risk Management
"The Journal of Healthcare Risk Management is published on behalf of the American Society for Healthcare Risk Management. We publish work related to evidence-based health care risk management and enterprise risk management for practitioners, researchers, and scholars involved with or interested in the field of healthcare risk management, patient safety and adjacent fields."