Chemistry

Full text of journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). Find articles in all areas of chemistry as well as related fields such as environmental science, biotechnology, material science, pharmacology, and toxicology.
Click here for Chemical and Engineering News.
Coverage Dates: 1879 to present

Abstracts and select full-text of articles from scholarly, government, and general interest publications that address human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Coverage Dates: 1913 to present

Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines. Click here for a search tutorial. Many scholarly eBooks are also available on the platform.
Coverage Dates: 1665 to present

Abstracts and select full text of articles in medicine, dentistry, nursing, and related fields. Differs from the free version (PubMed) in that it uses the EBSCOhost search interface and provides some full text.
Coverage Dates: 1950 to present

The NSDL provides access to resources in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and research. It includes labs, lectures, readings, games, and full course outlines. Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access.

Nature Publishing Group (NPG) is a publisher of high impact scientific and medical information in print and online. NPG publishes journals, online databases, and services across the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine. CSI subscribes to a selected list of these titles. Please see our Journal Search on the home page to check for any particular title.

Free database of medical literature produced by the National Library of Medicine. Contains citations and abstracts of articles in medicine, dentistry, nursing, and related fields.
Coverage Dates: 1950 to present

Weekly peer-reviewed general science journal published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science covering news, research, and commentary in all areas of the sciences. Full text is available for all issues published since 1997. Issues from 1880 to 2002 are available through JSTOR.

Abstracts of scholarly literature in science, technology, and medicine with full text available for articles published after 1995. Core subjects include physics, chemistry, engineering, biology, environmental science, health and medicine. Also provides coverage of a number of titles in the social sciences and humanities (particularly management, economics, psychology, and linguistics). Please note that the Library does not subscribe to all journals in ScienceDirect. Subscribed content is marked by a green "full text available" icon.

Abstracts and select open source full text of scholarly literature in physics, engineering, and mathematics. Indexes over 100 journals from professional societies such as the American Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
Coverage Dates: 1893 to present

Multidisciplinary database offering full text access to select scholarly journals in the fields of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. For TUTORIALS, click here
Coverage Dates: 1997 to present

Over 20,000 full text ebooks and reference works, and 2,500 journals published by Springer. Core focus is science, technology, and medicine but includes some titles in the social sciences and humanities.

Access to over 5,000 full text e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Find full text scholarly and reference books in a variety of subjects, including business, economics, computer science, history, political science, art, literature, and science.
In order to read offline or download to a reader, first create an account.
View Download Tutorial

Ebook Central from ProQuest brings together several digital platforms into one easy-to-use database with over 200,000 books. For information about downloading and off-line reading, see our Ebook Central help guide. After 5 minutes of reading, or if you choose a download option, you MAY be asked to log-in to your College of Staten Island SLAS account.

Digital reference collection containing over 400 full text encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, and specialized reference books. Search for articles across all the books in the database or browse through specialized subject specific encyclopedias. All articles are also indexed in the library's primary catalog, OneSearch.