Middle Eastern languages, literature and culture guide

It is the purpose of the Middle East Librarians Association to facilitate communication among members through meetings and publications; to improve the quality of area librarianship through the development of standards for the profession and education of Middle East library specialists; to compile and disseminate information concerning Middle East libraries and collections and to represent the judgment of the members in matters affecting them; to encourage cooperation among members and Middle East libraries, especially in the acquisition of materials and the development of bibliographic control; to cooperate with other library and area organizations in projects of mutual concern and benefit; to promote research in and development of indexing and automated techniques as applied to Middle East materials.

Online newspaper directory organized by country.

For those interested in historical photographs of the Middle East, the following list provides a selection of institutions and organizations with significant collections. This list was prepared for the session "Documenting the Middle East: A Look at Photograph Collections in the United States" presented at the Society of American Archivists Annual Meeting, New Orleans, Louisiana, August 20, 2005. It was prepared by Robert Burton (North Carolina State University Libraries), Ruth Thomasian (Project SAVE Armenian Photograph Archives, Inc.), Jeff Spurr (Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture, Harvard University), Susan Woodland (Hadassah Archives), and Arden Alexander (Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs).

A guide to researching the middle east and beyond.

RFE/RL's Radio Farda is one of the few remaining sources of uncensored news and information for people in Iran. Despite severe censorship, Radio Farda's website receives 10 million page views every month.

Valuable Middle Eastern, Armenian, and Central Asian Studies resource guide.

Guggenheim UBS MAP curator Sara Raza and exhibition artists Abbas Akhavan, Nadia Kaabi-Linke, and Ergin Çavuşoğlu reflect on But a Storm Is Blowing from Paradise: Contemporary Art of the Middle East and North Africa. Raza discusses her aim of creating an immersive experience for the viewer rooted in “ideas-driven” artwork, and the challenges and opportunities of interweaving the works of 17 artists in one exhibition.

The Department of the Middle East covers the ancient and contemporary civilisations and cultures of the Middle East from the Neolithic period until the present.

Art of the Middle East CONTEMPORARY supports the Art of the Middle East department at LACMA. At present, LACMA is the only major American museum that actively collects and exhibits contemporary art of the Middle East.

Art Dubai is a leading international art fair and the preeminent platform to interact with art from the Middle East and North Africa.

The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. The Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. The Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. The Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.