Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Sources for American History

This guide offers resources for finding primary source material in the area of American history.

Subscription Databases

American Civil War Research Database 
The definitive online resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Includes military records for over 4 million soldiers, 4,000 regimental histories, 3,000 battle accounts and reports, 15,000 photographs, and much useful statistical information and analytical tools.


Black Thought and Culture 
Full text of over 1,200 books, essays, articles, pamphlets, and speeches related to African American history from colonial times to the present. Sources include published books as well as previously unpublished materials such as letters, correspondence, and interviews. In addition to searching by keyword, users can browse documents by multiple criteria such as author, title, date, subject, or historical event.


Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 
Digital collection of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the United States between 1639-1800. Early American Imprints is the definitive resource for primary source research in early American history. Topics covered include agriculture, commerce, education, labor, medicine, military & foreign affairs, politics, religion, slavery, and much more.


Eighteenth Century Collections Online 
Digital collection of books printed in the 18th century, primarily in Great Britain. Subjects covered include history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.


Making of the Modern World 
Digital collection of economic and business literature published from 1450 to 1850, providing historical insight on the political, social, and economic conditions of the modern era. Subjects covered include commerce, finance, trade, manufacturing, agriculture, slavery, and transportation.


Women and Social Movements 
Digital collection of articles, essays, books, bibliographies, and primary source materials documenting the history of women's reform activities in the U.S. from 1600 to 2000.

E-Reference Databases