Media Culture

Index of articles in art history and the fine arts that include motion pictures, TV, and video topics. Find film topics by using a keyword search or by browsing the subject motion pictures. Over 400 leading art publications from around the world with information compiled by specialists with expertise in all fields of art to provide an international perspective; from 1984 to present.

ARTstor is a digital library of over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes.Users can create personal accounts to save, organize and share images. Click here for ARTstor tutorials.

Abstracts and select full text from over 650 journals in communications and mass media. Covers topics in journalism, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.

This service contains free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals that aims to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 766 journals in the directory.

Drama for Students series — (via Gale Virtual Reference Library)— contains easily accessible and context-rich discussions of the literary and historical significance of 12 to 14 major plays from various cultures and time periods. Each volume includes concise synopses of plot, characters and themes; an author biography; a discussion of the story’s cultural and historical significance; excerpted criticism; and two “Literature to Film” study entries about film adaptations of commonly studied works that provide criticism and highlight technique, comparing and contrasting the film and the work. Please access this series of books by searching "Drama for Students" in the Gale Virtual Reference Library (as default keywords search or publication title). Electronic and print versions can also be found through OneSearch.

Contains 700,000 citations to articles on film, television and video including production reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. (Available in print from 1973-2000).

Gale InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers, then select your own screen appearance, search options and results format. Coverage Dates: 1980 to present

Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Coverage Dates: 1907 to present

Full text articles from the first issue of several hundred journals in the Arts & Sciences I & II, General Science, Language & Literature collections.

Abstracts and Bibliography from Modern Language Association. Find film topics by using a keyword search or by browsing the subject film. (Available in print 1921-2003).

A comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, decorative arts, graphic design and photography, from prehistory to the 1990s. Find artist biographies, images of art works, definitions of key terms, and encyclopedia articles on art history topics.

Project MUSE offers nearly 250 full text journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers, covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Journal titles include the following: Camera Obscura, Cinema Journal, Film History: An International Journal, The Moving Image, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, and Wide Angle.