A database is a collection of materials organized in a way that allows them to be searched. YouTube may be seen as a type of database. So is Amazon.com. The databases on this page have been created specifically for academic use.
Some are specialized and focused on particular subjects, and many are multi-disciplinary, covering a variety of subjects.
Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and select full text of scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of subject disciplines, including art, literature, education, history, sociology, science, and engineering. Because of its broad subject and full text coverage, Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for research on virtually any topic. Click here for a search tutorial.
Coverage Dates: 1887 to present
Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Coverage Dates: 1907 to present
Digital reference collection containing over 400 full text encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, and specialized reference books. Search for articles across all the books in the database or browse through specialized subject specific encyclopedias. All articles are also indexed in the library's primary catalog, OneSearch.
Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines. Click here for a search tutorial.
Coverage Dates: 1665 to present
Enjoy fast access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Coverage Dates: 1983 to present
Full text journals in all fields of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Covers major titles such as Harvard Business Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, and Journal of Marketing Research. Also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.