CSI Library: Political Science : Databases

Databases with Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Complete
Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and select full text of scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of subject disciplines, including art, literature, education, history, sociology, science, and engineering. Because of its broad subject and full text coverage, Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for research on virtually any topic. Click here for a search tutorial.
Coverage Dates: 1887 to present

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Find articles, conference proceedings, working papers, and policy briefs covering all aspects of global affairs and international relations. Also provides country data and teaching materials such as case studies and course packs of background readings.
EconLit
Citations and abstracts of literature in economics. Includes coverage of major journals as well as books, book reviews, conference papers, dissertations, and working papers.
JSTOR
Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines.
Project MUSE
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences primarily covering the fields of literature, history, cultural studies, political science, religion, and the arts. (Books are not available yet)
Social Sciences Full Text
Enjoy fast access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
SocIndex FT
Citations and select full text of scholarly articles, books, and conference papers in sociology. Topics covered include criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, substance abuse, violence, and urban studies.
Taylor & Francis Library
Multidisciplinary database providing access to over 1,220 full text scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes major titles such as Journal of American History,American Historical Review, and American Quarterly. (For world history see Historical Abstracts).

Directory of Open Access Journals
Full text articles from free, open access scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subjects and languages. Search for articles by keyword or browse through journals by subject.

Databases with Newspaper/Magazine Articles

Academic Search Complete
Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and select full text of scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of subject disciplines, including art, literature, education, history, sociology, science, and engineering. Because of its broad subject and full text coverage, Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for research on virtually any topic.

Access World News
Full text access to approximately 3,000 global news sources, including newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news blogs, Web-only content and video. This database is especially strong in local and international news, including over 50 New York news sources and over 1,300 overseas sources. Coverage varies by title.
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006
Full text of The Economist, a weekly magazine of worldwide politics, business, and current affairs, from 1843 to 2006. For full access to the Economist from 01/01/1988 to present in see Business Insights, InfoTrac Newsstand, Academic OneFile, General OneFile.
Ethnic Newswatch
Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Covers of a wide spectrum of ethnic viewpoints, including African-American, Jewish, Latino, Native-American, and Asian-American publications. Coverage Dates: 1990 to present.
Gale General One-File
Search over 12,000 general interest periodicals for news and magazine articles on a wide range of topics in current events, business, education, health care, social issues, and technology.
LexisNexis Academic
Full text access to a wide range of news, business, and legal information. News resources include major U.S. and world newspapers and magazines, TV and radio transcripts, newswires, and blogs. Business resources include industry and market news, company profiles and SEC filings, and country profiles and business conditions. Legal resources include law reviews and journals, U.S. case law, codes and statutes.
National Newspapers Core [Proquest]
Search full text of major U. S. newspapers in one place: Christian Science Monitor; Los Angeles Times; New York Times; Washington Post. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper.
New York Times [Proquest]
For more than 150 years, Times readers have expected their newspaper to provide the most thorough and uncompromising coverage in the world. The Times has won more Pulitzer prizes than any other news organization and remains No. 1 in overall reach of U.S. opinion leaders.
New York State Newspapers
Full text of select New York state newspapers, including the New York Post (from 2000), New York Observer (from 1999), Albany Times (from 1986), and Buffalo News (from 1996). Coverage dates vary by publication.
Wall Street Journal [Proquest]
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international business, finance, and economic news. Full text is available for all issues published since 1984. Issues from 1889 to 2007 are available on microfilm.
Coverage Dates: 1984 to present