Skip to main content

Nursing

Transcultural Nursing Resources: Articles

  1. Start by reading an essay on your specific culture group:
    Gale Virtual Reference Library database is a good place to start. There's a 15-20 page essay for almost every ethnic group. To locate the essay, click Gale Virtual Reference Library, Under Subjects, click Multicultural Studies, then in the searach box, type in your ethnic group, e.g.: Italian americans; Mexican americans....
     
  2. eHRAF World Cultures database offers information on different cultures and ethnic groups from around the world. Covers all aspects of cultural and social life such as beliefs, cultural practices, political structure, and settlement patterns. Each cultural profile consists of a "cultural summary" and a list of relevant full text sources. Users can search by keyword or browse by subject, region, or culture.

  3. Search library databases for articles on specific cultures. Related databases include:

​​​Search Strategy: keyword searching is possible; however, searching by subject terms will make your searching more precise, and enable you to retrieve more relevant articles.  Try Arabs and culture, blacks and transcultural nursing, Hispanics and culture values, Chinese and transcultural care.  More subject terms are provided below.  

Ethnic Groups

 Amish
 Arabs
 Asians
 Cambodians
 Chinese
 Filipinos
 Japanese
 Koreans
 Laotians
 Vietnamese
 Blacks
 Gypsies
 Hispanics
 Jews
 Whites
 American Indians

Subject Terms

Transcultural Nursing
Transcultural Care
Culture
   Cultural Diversity
   Cultural Sensitivity
   Cultural Values
   Ethnic Groups
   Ethnology
Medicine, Arabic
Medicine, Herbal
Medicine, Traditional
Faith Healing
Complementary Therapies
Medicine, Chinese Traditional
Drugs, Chinese Herbal
Medicine, Native American

Transcultural Nursing Resources: Online/ eBooks

  • De Chesnay, M., & Anderson, B. (2020). Caring for the vulnerable: perspectives in nursing theory, practice, and research  (Fifth edition.). Jones & Bartlett Learning.  Available Full-Text Online
     
  • Dreher, M., Skemp, L., & Lehmann, S. (2016). Healthy places, healthy people: a handbook for culturally informed community nursing practice. In Healthy places, healthy people (3rd ed.). Sigma Theta Tau International.  Available Full-Text Online
     
  • Kersey-Matusiak, G. (2019). Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care : Working with Diverse and Vulnerable Populations. In Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care : Working with Diverse and Vulnerable Populations (2nd ed.). Springer Publishing Company.  Available Full-Text Online

Transcultural Nursing Resources: Websites

These websites provide useful and reliable information on different cultures:

  • U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets from the U.S. Department of State  (http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/)
    Contain information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. Include facts on the country's land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and its relations with other countries and the United States. 

  • CIA World Factbook  (https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/)
    The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring maps and flags of all nations. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. 
     
  • EthnoMed (http://www.ethnomed.org)
    This site provides information on cultural beliefs, language, and health issues of recent immigrants. Particularly useful are the links to cultural profiles, health topics, cross-cultural topics and patient education. 
     
  • MEDLINEplus Health Information  (http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/populationgroups.html)
    Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to Web sites dealing with health issues for various ethnic groups and special populations including Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, African Americans, Native Americans, and seniors. 
     
  • Transcultural Nursing Society (http://www.tcns.org)
    This is the official Web site of the Transcultural Nursing Society. It provides information about the organization, with links to its annual conference, workshops, and the Journal of Transcultural Nursing.