CSI Library: American Sign Language (ASL): Databases and Journals

Journals

American Annals of the Deaf
"A professional journal dedicated to quality in education and related services for deaf or hard of hearing children and adults", first published in 1847.
Journal of American Sign Language and Literatures (JASLL)
An open-access website that features scholarly works, published in a video-based medium, using signed language as the primary language of the journal.
Journal of Interpretation (JOI)
Published by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, this peer-reviewed and open-access journal focuses on topics relating to sign language interpreting.
Sign Language Studies
An academic journal that focuses on the cultural, linguistic, and historical significance of sign language, published by Gallaudet University Press.
Society for American Sign Language Journal (SASLJ)
This open-access scholarly journal "provides a platform for researchers, scholars, administrators, developers, assessors, practitioners, and students to impart and share the knowledge that is socially conscious and sensitive toward American Sign Language."

Databases

ASL-LEX
ASL-LEX is a database of lexical and phonological properties of American Sign Language signs. As of Fall 2020 it became the largest interactive ASL database in the world with approximately 2,723 signs. See the site's Instructions page for more information on how to use the search and visualizations. The full lexicon can also be downloaded for research.
EBSCOhost Databases (all)
Databases available through EBSCOhost such as Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, PsycInfo, and ERIC. Search databases individually or simultaneously.
Click here for a search tutorial .
ERIC (EBSCO)
The world's premier database of education literature. Contains over one million abstracts of articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, and policy papers on educational research and practice since 1966. Provides full-text options not available from the U.S. Department of Education version.
JSTOR
Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines. Click here for a search tutorial.
SAGE Premier Full Text Journal Collections
Journals from SAGE Publications in all areas. Access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals across all fields, with particularly strong coverage in the health and social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text
A wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.