Skip to main content

Nursing

Databases

CINAHL Complete
The world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing over 700 full-text journals, 275 books, and citations from over 5000 journals.

MEDLINE Complete
The largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for over 2,400 medical journals. Differs from the free version (PubMed) in that it uses the EBSCOhost search interface and provides full text for thousands of journals. Coverage Dates: 1865 to present.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source, the Nursing/Academic Edition, provides full text articles from over 600 journals, including over 170 nursing journals. Full-text information on prescription drugs, over-the-counter products, and nutritional supplements from Clinical Pharmacology is also provided.

Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.

Provides clinical answers to nursing students, physician’s assistant students, and researchers in allied health fields. Nursing applications include caring for HIV/AIDS patients, dealing with accident and trauma victims, supporting cardiovascular surgery, giving emergency care, developing policy, providing neonatal care, relieving pain, serving the elderly, administering CPR, delivering babies, and operating specialized equipment.
 
A comprehensive full-text database on health policy, including health care access, health care quality, and health care financing. The database features index coverage and 200 full-text titles.
 

Health Reference Center Academic
Offers medical topic overviews from Clinical Reference Systems and numerous medical reference books as well as full text of nursing and allied health journals.

LWW Nursing / Health eBook Collection via Ovid 
Over 320 full text ebooks published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) covering all aspects of nursing including surgery, administration, pediatrics, diagnosis, palliative care, and more. You can search the collection or browse individual titles by selecting "Books" on the menu bar.

LWW Nursing Journals via Ovid
14 nursing journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW), including titles such as AACN Advanced Critical Care; Nurse Educator; Computers in Nursing; CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing...

The R2 Digital Library is collection of e-books that a wide variety of books in the health sciences, including nursing, from many leading publishers. Books can be read online and searched. Use this link to browse by topic or search for titles directly.

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Full text reviews of standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Includes overview of the test, publication information, description of test materials, scoring information, and reviews. 

Academic Search Complete
Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and select full text of scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of subject disciplines, There are over 270 titles related to the nursing discipline.

ScienceDirect
The world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information, with over 200 titles in nursing and health professions. Journals include The Lancet, Nurse Education Today, Nurse Education in Practice, American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and the American Journal of Medicine.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full-text popular and scholarly literature on current controversial issues.

Full text reports about current social, political, and economic issues. Includes topics in health, education, international affairs, public policy, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report includes a concise overview of an issue, historical background, opposing arguments, statistics and polls, and suggestions for further reading. 

 

>> See Complete List of Library Databases 

 


Cancelled Databases:

  • UpToDate: Nursing Department has discontinued UpToDate subscription due to lack of funding.  Talk to your Nursing Department Chair or Dean of the School of Health Sciences if you have a comment.
  • CABELLS Scholarly Analytics was cancelled by the college.