Women Will Vote celebrates the 2017 centenary of women"s right to full suffrage in New York State. Goodier and Pastorello convincingly argue that the agitation and organization that led to New York women's victory in 1917 changed the course of American history.
Discusses the historical background, legal cases, and current debate on and impact of voting rights on modern day life. Includes material on the Seneca Falls Convention and contributions from The New York Times and Gloria Steinem.
The Seneca Falls Convention of 1848 was at the beginning of the long struggle for women's rights in the United States. The documents collected in this anthology bring to life the anger and the excitement of a moment when a small but determined group of women dared to challenge the laws and customs of a society dominated by men.
The story of how the women's rights movement began at the Seneca Falls convention of 1848 is a cherished American myth that credits founders such as Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, and Lucretia Mott with defining and then leading the campaign for women's suffrage. While this mythology has narrowed our understanding of the early efforts to champion women's rights, the myth of Seneca Falls itself became an influential factor in the suffrage movement.
Primarily represented within document collections and broader accounts of the fight for woman suffrage, Anthony's controversial trial--as a landmark narrative in the annals of American law--remains a relatively neglected subject. Hull provides the first book-length engagement with the legal dimensions of that narrative and in the process illuminates the laws, politics, and personalities at the heart of the trial and its outcome.
In this Reacting to the Past game, the classroom is transformed into Greenwich Village in 1913. Exposed to ideas like woman suffrage, socialism, birth control, and anarchism, students experiment with forms of political participation and bohemian self-discovery.
Although this work does not focus on suffrage, it explores the culture and leisure activities of working class immigrant women in New York City from 1880-1920, and is therefore a reflection of women's liberation and feminist culture at the time.
Comparing suffrage campaigns in forty-eight American states and twenty-five Swiss cantons, Banaszak argues that movement tactics, beliefs, and values are critical in understanding why political movements succeed or fail.
In the two decades since Feminism and Suffrage was first published, the increased presence of women in politics and the gender gap in voting patterns have focused renewed attention on an issue generally perceived as nineteenth-century. For this new edition, Ellen Carol DuBois addresses the changing context for the history of woman suffrage at the millennium.
A collection of essays tracing the trajectory of the suffrage story against the backdrop of changing attitudes to politics, citizenship and gender, and the resultant tensions over such issues as slavery and abolitionism, sexuality and religion, and class and politics.
Essays in this volume seek to reconceptualize the political history of black women in the United States by placing them "at the center of our thinking." The book explores how slavery, racial discrimination, and gender shaped the goals that African American women set for themselves, their families, and their race and looks at the political tools at their disposal.
In Splintered Sisterhood, Marshall argues that the women of the antisuffrage movement mobilized not as threatened homemakers but as influential political strategists. Drawing on surviving records of major antisuffrage organizations, Marshall makes clear that antisuffrage women organized to protect gendered class interests.
The Fourteenth Amendment identified all legitimate voters as "male." In so doing, it added gender-specific language to the U.S. Constitution for the first time. Suffrage Reconstructed is the first book to consider how and why the amendment's authors made this decision.
Discusses the falling-out between women's and African-American suffrage advocates during the Reconstruction era, examining the political culture in the United States during the nineteenth century, and describing how local Republicans sought to defeat both causes by setting the groups against each other.
Woodhull's texts reveal the multiple conflicting aspects of this influential woman, who has been portrayed in the past as either a disreputable figure or a brave pioneer. This collection of letters, speeches, essays, and articles elucidate some of the lesser-known movements and ideas of the nineteenth century.
A comprehensive encyclopedia tracing the history of the women's rights movement in the United States from the American Revolution to the present day. Volume 2 of this four-volume set focuses on suffrage and women's activism, 1870-1950.
A global history of women and the vote that takes the story of women in politics from the earliest times to the present day, revealing startling new connections across time and national boundaries - from Europe and North America to Asia, Africa, Latin America, and the Muslim world post- 9/11.
This updated edition provides hundreds of firsthand accounts of the women's movement that illustrate how historical events appeared to those who lived through them. Each chapter also provides an introductory essay, a chronology of events, critical documents, new primary source quotations, and an expanded appendix.
In this provocative study, Rebecca J. Mead shows that Western suffrage came about as the result of the unsettled state of regional politics, the complex nature of Western race relations, broad alliances between suffragists and farmer-labor-progressive reformers, and sophisticated activism by Western women. She highlights suffrage racism and elitism as major problems for the movement, and places special emphasis on the political adaptability of Western suffragists whose improvisational tactics earned them progress.
A comprehensive history of the women's suffrage movement in the United States, from 1776 to 1965. And Yet They Persisted traces agitation for the vote over two centuries, from the revolutionary era to the civil rights era, excavating one of the greatest struggles for social change in this country and restoring African American women and other women of color to its telling. Reintegrating the long struggle for women's suffrage into the metanarrative of U.S. history, Dr. Neuman sheds new light on such questions as: why it took so long to achieve equal voting rights for women; how victories in state suffrage campaigns pressured Congress to act; why African American women had to fight again for their rights in 1965; and how the struggle by eight generations of female activists finally succeeded.
Uncovering startling affinities between popular literature and propaganda, Treacherous Texts samples a rich, decades-long tradition of suffrage literature created by writers from diverse racial, class, and regional backgrounds. Beginning with sentimental fiction and polemic, progressing through modernist and middlebrow experiments, and concluding with post-ratification memoirs and tributes, this anthology showcases lost and neglected fiction, poetry, drama, literary journalism, and autobiography; it also samples innovative print cultural forms devised for the campaign, such as valentines, banners, and cartoons.
O'Neill's lively history of American women's struggle for equality is written with style and a keen sense for the variety of possible interpretations of 150 years of the feminist movement, from its earliest stirring in the 1830's to the latest developments in the 1980s. His most controversial thesis is that the feminist movements of the past have largely failed, and for reasons that remains of deep concern; the movements have never come to grips with the fact that marriage and the family are the chief obstacles to women's emancipation. O'Neill considers seriously the ideas of the great feminist leaders and their organizations. His was the first book to deal directly with the failure of feminism as a social force in American society; to tie together the scattered people and events in the history of American women; and to examine seriously feminist experience in the twentieth century.
This comprehensive look at the African American women who fought for the right to vote analyzes the women's own stories and examines why they joined and how they participated in the U.S. women's suffrage movement.
Jailed for Freedom is a first-person account of the militant suffragists who organized some of the first-ever, large scale demonstrations and protests on Washington. At a time when President Woodrow Wilson’s administration refused to acknowledge women’s voting rights as a tangible issue, the National Woman’s Party coalesced, organized, and fought a fierce battle for the ratification of the 19th Amendment with heroism, bravery, and radical vigilance.