Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for Learning and Teaching Remotely

This guide lists a few of the electronic resources that are available to help students and faculty in the distance learning environment

Open Access and Openly Available Digitized Textbooks

  • Open Library provides access to more than 3,000,000 online books. Books within the public domain are available for immediate access. Modern copyrighted books can be borrowed via controlled digital lending with the creation of a free account. Loan periods are a minimum of an hour and/or up to 14 days. CUNY libraries is a new participating member with close to 800,000 print monographs contributed. The CSI library has over 40,000 monographs contributed from its print collections.
  • HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. While many of the site's features and much of its content is not available to the CSI community; anyone can search the catalog, see samples from full text documents, and see a number of freely available documents.
  • Open Textbook Library is a project by the University of Minnesota Center of Education. These textbooks are freely available, reviewed by faculty, and can be reused, adapted, and redistributed. Browse by discipline and subject or search the entire collection.
  • B.C. Open Textbook Collection is a growing selection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties. Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, videos, etc.).
  • OpenStax is a leading research university, Rice University, generates innovative research, excellent teaching, and creative contributions with an expanding collection of e-textbooks.
  • SUNY Open Textbooks-is an open textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants and SUNY Geneseo.
  • OpenEd CUNY is a curated digital library of open educational resources, from CUNY educators. An initial search can be narrowed down to openly accessible Textbooks.
  • M.O.M is a metadata finder that searches across 21 OER resources with an emphasis on OA textbooks.