Skip to main content

Resources for Learning and Teaching Remotely

This guide lists a few of the electronic resources that are now available to students and faculty to help with distance learning and teaching for the Spring semester

JSTOR, Project Muse, and EBSCO Enhanced Journal access

A number of vendors have expanded our journal subscriptions, including new JSTOR collections, Project Muse expanded date range access to our current subscriptions, and upgraded EBSCOHost Ultimate Collection journals. All of this content will be temporarily integrated into OneSearch when possible, or you can search each platform directly using our usual links on the A-Z database list. To find the additional EBSCO and JSTOR content by title, please search CUNY's Journal Finder. This link does not include many of our subscriptions, but it does include most of the new content; please start with OneSearch and our local Journal Finder. You will need a library barcode to access journals directly from the CUNY site.

The Newsweek Archive

ProQuest has allowed us to have full access to the complete Newsweek Magazine Archive, from 1933 -2012. The articles are presented in page-image format available from cover to cover so pictures, sidebars, and advertisements are all included, in color. A great resource for history, political science, media culture, communications and many other fields!

United States Documents Masterfile and Eight Centuries

ParaText is opening 2 databases for us to use until the end of the semester:

United States Documents Masterfile provides a single search for indexes and records for nearly 250 years of U.S. Federal government information.

Eight Centuries is a database offering researchers primary source analysis in Humanities, Engineering, History of Science, Legal Studies, the Arts, and more.

University of California Press Journals

The University of California Press is making all their online journals content free through June 2020. Over 30 online journals are all available over their whole runs. Their journals cover topics in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.

Royal Society Journals

The Royal Society has made all its journals freely available during the COVID-19 crisis. Check out their titles on their Journals Listing or search across all their content. 

HeinOnline

HeinOnline Academic is now available to us until December 15th 2020!  It primarily includes content in history, law, and political science. Materials include periodicals, primary sources, and extensive historical and recent legal documents. Two Hein databases, Slavery in America and the World and Gun Regulation and Legislation in America are both permanently available to the college community and will still be accessible in 2021.

RIPM Music Periodicals

 Le Répertoire international de la presse musicale (RIPM) has agreed to provide online access for the semester to its collection of rare music periodicals from the Early Romantic to the Modern Period. Consider searching for their newly digitize Jazz periodicals!